iMac late 2010 Dual Monitor issue

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jcbbuller, Sep 19, 2014.

  1. jcbbuller macrumors newbie

    jcbbuller

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Location:
    Virginia
    #1
    Hello,

    So I just bought a Qnix QX2710LED monitor that supports 2560 x 1440 resolution. When I hook it up to my late 2010 iMac and go to Display the only option it gives me is 1920 x 1080, does anyone know why? My iMac has a ATI Radeon HD 5670 512 MB and on NewEgg (the online store I bought it from) it says that it 'suggests NVIDIA: GTX460 or more than 1GB memory, with DVI-D Port; ATI: HD6850 or more than 1GB memory, with DVI-D Port' does this mean that my graphics card doesn't support a DVI-D port? I tried to look up information on it but I'm lost. Please help! And if it's an issue of my computer not being able to handle it do you have any suggestions on another 2560 x 1440 monitor (thats relatively cheap) that would work?
     
  2. ELYEN01 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    #2
    I have similar setup on my UP 30" monitor. I learned that you need a dual link SCI cable or a display port cable to get 2560 resolution.

    ----------

    HP monitor I meant
     
  3. phphoto macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
  4. jcbbuller, Sep 19, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2014

    jcbbuller thread starter macrumors newbie

    jcbbuller

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Location:
    Virginia
    #5
    Alright thanks! I'll let you know if it works!

    *It worked!! THANKS!
     
  5. Geoff C macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    #6

    Mmmm ok also having problems on this issue.

    Just added a second monitor (Acer k272hul) to my iMac
    (27" mid 2010, running 10:10, card is ATI Radeon HD 5750 1024 mb)

    To a point all is working well adaptors, cables and configuration all appear to work using a DVI-D 25 pin to Mini Display port adaptor.

    But -

    I can only get 1920 x 1080 resolution - will this dual link adaptor fix the problem?

    Then if I calibrate the new monitor the screen on the iMac decides to share the calibration which then looks awful!

    So any ideas how I can get the 2560 x 1440 the monitor is capable of and calibrate it independently to the iMac screen?

    Thanks

    G :)
     
  6. robgendreau macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #7
    If you want 2560x1440 (or better, if otherwise supported) make sure you get what is called an ACTIVE DVI adapter. You'll know 'em cuz they're always a lot more expensive. Kanex makes one (C30 I think), and so does Apple.

    And note that they work one-way; you can't use 'em with DVI out to display port in.

    And they have a USB cable; it's used for power so make sure it goes into something with steady power.
     

Share This Page