imac vs mac pro – so confused

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by jkleigh, Mar 25, 2009.

1. jkleigh macrumors newbie

I've searched high and low for this info, and I think I get around pretty good on the internet, but I've turned up nothing answering my specific question.

I'm trying to figure out which is a better computer for my needs – the 2009 iMac 3.06 with 4GB RAM, or the 2009 Mac Pro 8-core 2.26 with 12GB RAM.

I am not a pro user that does a lot of video or graphics, but I do typically have a thousand windows open and a ton of office type apps open like Mail, the entire microsoft suite, Acrobat, InDesign, Safari, Firefox and sometimes Photoshop for my entire work day.

So I'm not a power graphics user but I do think I'm a power user of some kind and just want the fastest machine for what I do...

Do my needs depend mostly on RAM or clock speed or number of cores?

Any help in this area would be SO GREATLY appreciated...thanks for reading.

-J

2. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

GimmeSlack12

You'll be fine with an iMac.
    The Mac Pro is a serious power house and if you need one then you'll know you need one.

3. pdjudd macrumors 601

Unless the programs you use are heavily core aware - and it doesn't sound like any of them are, I would go with the iMac. That being said, it really depends on what you are doing in your applications and how much RAM you need to throw at them. I really don't think you need a Mac Pro though

4. charlesbronsen macrumors 6502a

charlesbronsen

I would think the iMac is much more suited for your needs as it will handle all the apps you mention in a single session no problem. Mac Pro is more suited for the power user doing lots of editing and such. But in the end its your money and your computer. Go with whatever makes you happy-Good Luck;)

5. Sun Baked macrumors G5

Sun Baked

Depends on a lot, you could order the Mac Pro with the minimum memory and upgrade it later.