In need of a new portable device: MacBook Pro or iPad?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by adamlbiscuit, Oct 12, 2010.

1. adamlbiscuit macrumors regular

Hi guys. I'm saving up for a new portable computing device but I'm unsure which one would be the best choice. I honestly can't make my mind up, should it be the iPad or the MacBook Pro?

I already have a 24" iMac and a white MacBook. However, the white MacBook isn't in the best condition and it's getting old. I want to replace the MacBook with either an iPad or a MacBook Pro for my portable computing needs.

Obviously the iPad is cheaper so that wins on the price front. But I've NEVER owned an iOS device before, so I'm wondering if I should risk it or stick to what I know.

I use my MacBook for web browsing,word processing, e-mail, listening to music and instant messaging. I don't game on it (That's a job my iMac does nicely.) Also, more importantly, I am also a digital artist/web comic artist, and while I do most of my work on the beautiful 24" iMac, I sometimes like to work on projects when I am out and about.

I've seen some pretty good drawing apps on the iPad and have even tried them out myself at the apple store, but I just wasn't any good with them. I couldn't draw for toffee using my finger and the touch screen. I know it takes practice but it made me question whether I should just get a MBP and stick to my graphics tablet for drawing. Bear in mind I mostly do the drawing on the iMac so I guess whether I can draw on this portable device isn't that important a factor. Still, having the option to work on my projects out and about is nice.

So yeah as you can see theres lots of conflicting things in my mind here. Can anyone aid me in choosing what to get?

2. Airforcekid macrumors 65816

Airforcekid

To me it sounds like the MacBook Air is best for you I would avoid the iPad I see it getting an update after Christmas.

3. adamlbiscuit thread starter macrumors regular