In NYC, I have T-mobile, yet, only get 4G on my iPhone 5?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Swagged, Apr 6, 2013.

  1. Swagged macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Location:
    Gotham City, New York
  2. andyx3x macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    #2
    Run a test on Speedtest and post the results.
     
  3. osofast240sx macrumors 68030

    osofast240sx

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    #3
    yes AT&T and T-mobile market HSPA+ as 4G.
     
  4. madsci954 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
  5. CharismaticNerd macrumors regular

    CharismaticNerd

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #5
    Why does his icon read 4G? I thought t mobiles only could say it was 3G!
     
  6. Dwalls90 macrumors 601

    Dwalls90

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #6
    There is 3G, 4G and LTE

    Verizon & Sprint have 3G and LTE.

    AT&T & Tmobile have 3G, but most of it is now sped up and is dubbed, 4G. And they also have LTE too.
     
  7. CharismaticNerd macrumors regular

    CharismaticNerd

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #7
    I know that I'm askingx, because he's on t mobile and an iPhone why does his Indictator say 4g mine only says 3G and I have a iphone 5?
     
  8. CEmajr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #8
    Tmobile released a carrier update for iPhone 4S and iPhone 5 running on their HSPA+ network to show the 4G icon now instead of 3G.
     
  9. bozzykid macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #9
    It hasn't been released yet actually (maybe Monday). But some jailbroken users are using a custom carrier bundle so it is possible to change it with that.
     
  10. Swagged thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Location:
    Gotham City, New York
    #10
    This.
     
  11. swoosh0217 macrumors 6502a

    swoosh0217

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Location:
    NW
    #11
    I thought 4G is LTE for T-Mobile? I'm confused??

    Unless his phone is JB, he can download a tweak that will make EDGE and 3G signals show as 4G but if he didn't download the tweak then he should be getting LTE signal.
     
  12. bozzykid macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #12
    T-Mobile officially calls LTE, "4G LTE". My guess is the official carrier update will make HSPA+ "4G".
     
  13. CEmajr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #13
    Tmobile and AT&T call HSPA+ 4G and they call LTE 4G LTE.
     
  14. shanmugam macrumors 68020

    shanmugam

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Blazer town!
    #14
    on LTE, it will show us LTE (not as 4G).
     
  15. CharismaticNerd macrumors regular

    CharismaticNerd

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #15
    Thanks dude haha
     
  16. osofast240sx macrumors 68030

    osofast240sx

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    #16
    They are probably waiting for the merger to go through.
     
  17. bozzykid macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #17
    No. There have already been sightings of LTE in NY. It is currently in testing phase meaning it will be lit up with the next set of LTE cities which should be in the next month or two.
     
  18. osofast240sx macrumors 68030

    osofast240sx

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    #18
    they won't need to deploy LTE that is already covered by metro pcs.
     
  19. bozzykid macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #19
    They are already deploying LTE in NYC without MetroPCS. It would be the end of next year before they can use their spectrum.
     
  20. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #20
    Could be 42. Pretty sure TMobile has deployed DC-HSPA+ performing up to 42mbps in some markets, and NYC seems like it would be a major one. However; NYC is fairly crowded though.

    3G, HSPA: rated 7.2 mbps
    4G, HSPA+/DC-HSPA+: rated 14-42mbps
    LTE, 50-100...+? mbps
     
  21. osofast240sx macrumors 68030

    osofast240sx

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    #21
    Tmobile claims they will start the day the deal is signed and finalized.
     
  22. bozzykid macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #22
    They said that but in reality from what I am hearing, the conversion of their LTE will take some time. There is no magical switch that that turns on LTE to all T-mobile customers from Metro's existing LTE.
     
  23. osofast240sx macrumors 68030

    osofast240sx

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    #23
    In most markets they just need to grab the spectrum.
     
  24. swordfish5736 macrumors 68000

    swordfish5736

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Cesspool
    #24
  25. viperGTS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    #25

Share This Page