iPhone Installed CYDIA updates, Iphone 4s on IOS 5 or 5.1 stuck at Frozen Apple help

dripad

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 22, 2012
6
0
I just happened to install some updates for CYDIA as cydia notified me.

So I let it do update on all the cydia things it wanted.

Last thing I saw was an red letter error in the Cydia program about "Airplane mode" for I think was SBS SETTINGS.

So the phone goes to reboot. Next thing I know it is stuck on the Apple Logo.

I let it progress, I see the circle pop up that starts to animate, then it freezes.


I try the following:

1.) I hold the Power On and Home button, to do a monster reset.

-reboots back to apple logo and circle that isnt moving, then reboots itself.

2.) I try to do Step 1 above and then hold the VOLUME UP button, it does nothing.

3.) I hold power on and home button to do reset again, but I KEEP HOLDING home button. I see the sign popup saying connect to itunes. I connect, but I DONT WANNA LOSE MY JAILBREAK I have had since February of 2012.

4.) I power button and home again to get out of that.

5.) I let battery drain, it did nothing to help it. Same situation


I logged into my router I was able to see the IP ADDRESS OF MY IPHONE!!!!!

I have connected to my iPhone once using the IP but that was a long time ago. So it is clear the iphone is being seen via WIFI.

**NOTE, DiskAid and IFUNBOX do not see the phone when it is plugged in VIA USB.


Any suggestions how to fix this? I never upgraded my phone because I didn't want to lose my jailbreak.

This has been more than 24 hours and I have no phone access.

Please help. Step by step would be much appreciated. All the Youtube videos I see are garbage. tried all that.

----------

I should note:

The program I used to do my Jailbreak was absinthe-2-0-4

if that helps at all.

I have also "backed up my device" in Itunes on the computer maybe a month or 2 months ago. Not sure if that lets me get back to keeping this OS and Jailbreak. I am not too familiar with all this.

Please help! I need my phone for work.
 
Last edited:

dripad

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 22, 2012
6
0
no response?


come on guys!


I will paypal someone if they are able to make this work. I really need this phone for work, this is so important. also phone pictures i need too. took tons of pics of work related stuff
 

TriJetHero

macrumors 601
Oct 13, 2010
4,953
137
World
Did you try holding volume up and just push power button (safe-mode boot) cause it didn't see it in your list.
 

dripad

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 22, 2012
6
0
Did you try holding volume up and just push power button (safe-mode boot) cause it didn't see it in your list.
Step 2... tried it like 40 times. nothing.

so weird.


thing just keeps going to apple log, then the circle that stops spinning, then reboots itself.
 

h4mza

macrumors 6502
Jul 30, 2010
270
0
I had a similar problem too, I had to delete some dylibs using iFunbox. Connect your iPhone to iFunbox, and press home and power until Apple logo shows up, then press home and power again until it switches off, then power button to switch it on. iFunbox should somehow detect it, when it does, just delete the dylibs.
 

Ryan Burgess

macrumors 6502
Jan 26, 2013
320
47
Step 2... tried it like 40 times. nothing.

so weird.


thing just keeps going to apple log, then the circle that stops spinning, then reboots itself.
I see that you've held the volume up button but how long did you wait before letting go and trying again? I had this problem and I fixed it but i had to hold the volume up button for like 6 minutes before it finally booted.

Also what iPhone are you using?
 

TriJetHero

macrumors 601
Oct 13, 2010
4,953
137
World
Step 2... tried it like 40 times. nothing.

so weird.


thing just keeps going to apple log, then the circle that stops spinning, then reboots itself.
1.) I hold the Power On and Home button, to do a monster reset.

-reboots back to apple logo and circle that isnt moving, then reboots itself.

2.) I try to do Step 1 above and then hold the VOLUME UP button, it does nothing.

This says holding volume up AND doing step 1, which is both power AND home, so now holding 3 buttons.

Be precise in what you do.

Safe-mode is only Volume-up AND power, 2 buttons only
 

dripad

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 22, 2012
6
0
I see that you've held the volume up button but how long did you wait before letting go and trying again? I had this problem and I fixed it but i had to hold the volume up button for like 6 minutes before it finally booted.

Also what iPhone are you using?
held it till my hand went numb, at least 5 minutes holding the volume up button.

----------

1.) I hold the Power On and Home button, to do a monster reset.

-reboots back to apple logo and circle that isnt moving, then reboots itself.

2.) I try to do Step 1 above and then hold the VOLUME UP button, it does nothing.

This says holding volume up AND doing step 1, which is both power AND home, so now holding 3 buttons.

Be precise in what you do.

Safe-mode is only Volume-up AND power, 2 buttons only

ok

just did HOME + POWER to reset.

i let go just now and then holding POWER + VOLUME UP

it showed battery red with little lightening bolt (i am plugged into computer) still holding power on and volume up

i see white apple logo sitting there now


been holding power up and volume up for over 60 seconds now

----------

still holding.... now the circle poppeed up but not spinnging. still holding power on and volume up.

----------

ok i also just tried this variation:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eJMS1woZMMc



thinh still locks at circle
 

dripad

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 22, 2012
6
0
Like i said before (twice) THAT is the ONLY way to get it in safe mode when it is off.

Don't do step 1 and than step 2

ONLY step 2, hold volume up and boot up.

If that doesn't work you're SOL and need to get a replacement.
So how can i get the phone to be "off"?

Let it keep looping until it just stops when the battery dies? then do a Power On + UP volume?
 

Nigel zahra

macrumors newbie
Jun 17, 2013
7
0
Hi I have a problem and wanted to know if you can help me.....my cydia tweaks are not showing in the settings and I can not edit them.is there a cydia tweak or something to let me make them show on the home screen without using the settings?
....thanks
 

TriJetHero

macrumors 601
Oct 13, 2010
4,953
137
World
Hi I have a problem and wanted to know if you can help me.....my cydia tweaks are not showing in the settings and I can not edit them.is there a cydia tweak or something to let me make them show on the home screen without using the settings?
....thanks
Which tweaks? Some don't have a settings possibility and just install and work.
 

eddyecb

macrumors regular
Sep 19, 2012
155
13
Like i said before (twice) THAT is the ONLY way to get it in safe mode when it is off.

Don't do step 1 and than step 2

ONLY step 2, hold volume up and boot up.

If that doesn't work you're SOL and need to get a replacement.
No, you wont need a replacement, you'll just need to restore (altho losing jb), sometimes you can ssh using the likes of ifunbox or diskaid when in a boot loop, you could try deleting dylibs of the latest things you downloaded on cydia.
 

Nigel zahra

macrumors newbie
Jun 17, 2013
7
0
Which tweaks? Some don't have a settings possibility and just install and work.
For example color keyboard,barrel,activator and many more :( please is their a way to tweak the apps and turn them on and off without settings because they used to show in the settings and now they're all gone but they still work.....