Installed WinXP and Win7 in Fusion4 but no network?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by danny_w, Oct 5, 2011.

  1. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #1
    I am trying to install a Windows VM for work on my MBP but cannot seem to see the network, although internet access works just fine. Is there something that I must do in VMWare to enable general network browsing?
     
  2. dafunktyfunk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Location:
    NorCalif
    #2
    having the same problem wi5h my imac 27. internet works fine but homegroup or network drivr access.
     
  3. danny_w thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #3
    The problem is occurring at work on my new MBP running Lion. I am also going to try installing on my iMac running SL which I still have for now to see if Lion vs. SL makes a difference (I have noticed that Lion seems much worse at navigating a Windows network, but maybe that is just me not being used to it yet).
     
  4. dafunktyfunk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Location:
    NorCalif
    #4
    great idea!

    this is my first mac so i dont know the diff between the two yet.
     
  5. danny_w thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #5
    Well installing it on SL did not help, but I found that setting the network adapter to "Bridged" in VMWare allowed me to see the network domain. I still cannot connect to it but I think that is a permissions issue that will have to be worked by IT.

    I do have another major issue with VMWare on Lion (only) though. orks but mostly does weird things, such as jumping when I move the mouse (especially at the edges of the window) and the selection area is far off from the end of the arrow, making selection extremely difficult. I saw one reference to this on the Apple forums but there was no reply.
     

Share This Page