Intending to buy a laptop and looking at the MacBook, few questions...

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Garrettmania, Jan 20, 2009.

1. Garrettmania macrumors newbie

Alright, so I'm in my second semester of college and I need a laptop (I wanted one last semester but didn't need it...) I'm majoring in Network Administration and also a second degree in Computer Programming.
    Although I constantly hear (from my parents and some of my friends) that Macs are for graphic designers only, I'm going to ignore that because I know it isn't true. I'm asking for an unbiased opinion, I just want to know what would be right for me, I know each have advantages over the other.
    I am looking at a Sony Vaio or a MacBook. First question is, which would be better for me? I have a lot of software for my PC already such as Adobe Creative Suite 3 Web Premium. If I got a Mac, I can't use it on both my PC and a Mac, would it be worth it to buy CS4 for the Mac, or would having CS3 on just my home PC be suffice? Also if I get a MacBook, which one would be better for me? The 2.0GHz with standard keyboard or 2.4GHz with backlit keyboard? There isn't a big difference in price, just a difference in keyboard and also a great difference in price. The only reason I still consider getting a Windows based machine is because I have so much software already for the PC platform. My final question is, what are your personal thoughts on having a PC and a Mac (two platforms).
    Hope these questions make sense. Thanks!
    Garrett

2. svndmvn Guest

The 2.0GHz Macbook is, IMO, of great value, and your money would be best spent on RAM rather than on the backlit keyboard and the extra .4GHz. Even though 2GB would suffice to start with.
    Any present Mac is good for dual booting, Mac OS X comes with boot camp, which allows you to partition your hard drive and with a Windows License/CD you can install it and choose the operating system to run natively.