(Internal WiFi card) Airport Extreme in MacPro is slow, very slow

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by ghoztman, Dec 9, 2008.

  1. ghoztman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #1
    I recently had WiFi installed on my MacPro 2006. It is not a PCI card, it is wired to the board (I had to take the box in to a registered dealer have this installed).

    I have a very weak signal and can't even open a webpage. It's attempts to load, but fails intermittently.

    I can connect to my NAS or other network shares, but they are very, very slow.

    I am no more than about 15 meters from the Timecapsule, two rooms away.

    My Macbook has a perfect signal (very strong) at the same spot and operates as if I were right next to wireless router (1TB Timecapsule). I also have a Dell laptop that has a very strong connection.

    The WiFi in the MacPro is as good as useless. I cannot move the router as it runs off a cable modem and I only have one cable connection in the apartment. I also don't want to have ethernet cables running all over the place.

    Has anyone experienced this and is there anything that can be done?

    Regards.
     
  2. Trip.Tucker Guest

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #2
    Check if the antenna wire was connected. It may have come loose during transit if it was not plugged in firmly. My Mac Pro has a very good range (approximately 54 feet) through 4 walls with full signal.
     
  3. ghoztman thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #3
    Thanks for the reply.

    Now that you mention this, it is worth mentioning that it did used to work.

    This may well have happened as I recently installed an ATI XI 1900 (which I then took out again...), so I may have dislodged it.

    Are there any diagrams of where this is on the board? Is it an actual sticky-outy (for lack of a better word) arial?

    I have just found this, is this it?
     
  4. Trip.Tucker Guest

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #4
    That's the one. Any loose wire?
     
  5. ghoztman thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #5
    I will have to report back when I am home. Work is getting in the way. ;)
     
  6. Trip.Tucker Guest

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #6

    Ahhh pesky work. Always getting in the way of my social calendar ;)
     
  7. ghoztman thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #7
    I opened it up and made sure all connectors were clicked in place. The Apple techy who installed the wireless for me did some cable control and I can't see where the antenna goes. But I turned the box around and moved it out of the corner, it seems to be very sensitive to positioning. It works though which is the main thing.
     
  8. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #8
    hhhmm i daresay that the MP's metal case wouldnt be helping...
     
  9. ghoztman thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #9
    Update. I secures all wires. I still have to move the case out of the corner and face the back in the direction of the router. No big deal, it fluctuates, sometimes I can move it back and it's OK. Seems to be a problem of position.
     

Share This Page