iOS 12.1.3 ― Bug Fixes, Changes, and Improvements

Discussion in 'iOS 12' started by Banglazed, Jan 22, 2019.

Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
  1. cbreze macrumors 6502a

    cbreze

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Location:
    Oregon
    #101
    I have not updated to this general release yet but on the latest beta(Iphone7)I notice something similar where the wifi icon indicating calls are going thru wifi shows next to the sig bars much more frequently, usually dropping to 2 bars does it. I'm on Verizon and like this alot as my home area has pretty weak signal about half the time. Calls sound great and much better than previously when it took almost a total loss of sig bars to initiate a wifi call. Never drops now. I'll be holding off on moving over to this release as I see no reason to risk any issues when my 7 is working better than it ever has.
     
  2. jessebkr87 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    #102
    I had that issue on beta 3, but it’s working with the public release.
     
  3. Bobout macrumors regular

    Bobout

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Location:
    Apple Valley
    #103
    Can someone with a X check if you have these settings under Settings-Phone.. Wife updated to 12.1.3 and got these new or old settings that she didn't have before the update and they are not on my XS MAX or 8 Plus.. Thank you

    SETTINGS.JPG
     
  4. Yun0 macrumors 65816

    Yun0

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    #104
    I cant 3D touch notifications anymore? Anyone else..? Pretty sure it started with 12.1.3.. the latest beta with it it was working fine..
     
  5. Banglazed, Jan 23, 2019
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2019

    Banglazed thread starter macrumors 68020

    Banglazed

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    #105
    No issue with 3D touch on notification

    This build may affect Sprint cellular data according to 9to5.
     
  6. mikehalloran macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Location:
    The Sillie Con Valley
    #106
    Anyone using Zoom' Handy Recorder app with their iQ series microphones probably noticed that iOS 12.1 broke the app completely and 12.1.2 brought back mono recording only. Although the mics do work in other apps, some functionality was disabled including real-time monitoring (Zoom iQ microphones have built-in headphone jacks).

    Handy Recorder works again as it should in iOS 12.1.3.

    I'm a happy guy for the moment.
     
  7. Yun0 macrumors 65816

    Yun0

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    #107
    Works now after a regular reboot..hmm.
     
  8. Banglazed thread starter macrumors 68020

    Banglazed

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
  9. Bobout macrumors regular

    Bobout

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Location:
    Apple Valley
    #109


    I'm with Sprint and not having issue with data but have had two drop calls today which I have not had in a long long time.. XS MAX
     
  10. C DM macrumors Sandy Bridge

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #110
    I believe those are typically more carrier-related than iOS-related.
     
  11. aj.dahlenburg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    #111
    Suppose I will take the plung this morning and report back.

    Thanks.

     
  12. Bobout macrumors regular

    Bobout

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Location:
    Apple Valley
    #112

    So you think it's Sprint,iPhone X only ?? .. Hmmm thats crazy .. Thank you for your response
     
  13. Falcon9 macrumors regular

    Falcon9

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Location:
    Eastern Canada
    #113
    I am having an issue where when I connect an SD card to my iPhone XS with the Apple lighting to SD card reader it will cause the phone to reboot after a few minutes. In the minutes before the phone reboots everything appears to work fine and I am able to import photos without any issue. The first time I've tried to do this was on 12.1.3, but it appears the issue is present in earlier versions as well: https://discussions.apple.com/thread/8659586

    My iPad Pro 10.5" (also on 12.1.3) does not have this issue. Seems like it's unique to the XS and XS Max (and maybe XR?).
     
  14. gdourado macrumors 6502

    gdourado

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #114
    Anyone with an ipad Air 2 updated? How is the battery life?
     
  15. mikehalloran macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Location:
    The Sillie Con Valley
    #115
    If you still have the original battery in an iPad 2, chances are very good that it's somewhere between fair to bad shape.

    My 2016 Pro is running great and 12.1.3 fixed some iCloud issues I was having. I was waiting for this before I contacted Apple support as I was pretty sure that it was 12.1.1 that caused the problem.
     
  16. shad0whawk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2015
    #116
    My personal phone is on AT&T and has always had those settings. My Verizon phone does not have those same settings so it is carrier dependent.
     
  17. Bobout macrumors regular

    Bobout

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Location:
    Apple Valley
    #117
    What's weird is none of my other iPhone variants have these settings and we are all on Sprint Network..
     
  18. BugeyeSTI macrumors 68020

    BugeyeSTI

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Location:
    Arizona
    #118
    My X doesn’t have those. I’m on Verizon and 12.1.3
    --- Post Merged, Jan 23, 2019 ---
    My Air2 is working fine with battery life as expected after the update..
     
  19. Sweet Pikake macrumors newbie

    Sweet Pikake

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Location:
    Honolulu. Hawaii
    #119
    iPhone X is on Globe Philippines, iPhone XS Max is on T-Mobile, iPhone 6S Plus is on Metro PCS and iPhone 8 Plus is on T-Mobile, all these devices has the same as you posted
     
  20. solodogg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Location:
    Orlando
    #120
    If you have an Xs or Xs Max, it doesn’t work regardless of what car you have. I’ve personally got a Mustang with Sync 2 and a Grand Cherokee with the updated uConnect, but have also tested with Sync 3, older uConnect, and MyLink systems as well as with multiple devices.

    CarPlay will update signal strength as long as the phone is doing something (streaming music, navigation, etc), but Bluetooth will not update signal strength if the phones display has been turned off for more than a few seconds. Upon turning the display back on, it takes about 5 seconds for the signal bars to update on the phone, and be reflected on the in-car display.

    The issue isn’t with Bluetooth, it’s with the phone not updating the displayed signal level in the background while the phones display is in standby mode. To replicate the issue, go to a strong signal area, turn your phone display off and keep it off, move some distance to an area you know has a weaker signal and turn your phone display back on. You will see full strength immediately upon turning the display on, but after a couple of seconds it will fall to reflect actual signal at the current time.

    Once again, Xs and Xs Max only AFIAK. Might impact Xr as well, but haven’t had one to test. Does not affect X or any older device.
     
  21. calibru_2good_4u macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    #121
    iOS 12.1.3 on my Xs max made my animations slow , it feels like my phone is struggling , it stutters, is choppy... can anyone confirm this ?
     
  22. jessebkr87 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    #122
    Good explanation. I didn’t feel like typing it all out. However, the “as long as the phone is doing something” part for CarPlay doesn’t apply to me. Mine doesn’t update at all unless the screen is awake.
     
  23. kobby2k6, Jan 24, 2019
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2019

    kobby2k6 macrumors newbie

    kobby2k6

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
  24. multimedios macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    #124
    I have an iphone 8 plus, with the update 12.1.2 and 12.1.3 is disconnected from WiFi several times a day, I have to connect again to fix it. I did a clean installation without backup in both cases and this did not help. I solved it by going back to 12.1.1, I no longer have WiFi problems :D
     
  25. digitalexplr macrumors 6502a

    digitalexplr

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    Location:
    Central Missouri
    #125
    I have them on my XR with AT&T. Have them on my wife's 8+ as well.
     
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

Share This Page