iOS OTA and Wireless is all good. Do we still have an option to use the cables?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by dubnde, Jun 7, 2011.

  1. dubnde macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    For all the things that wireless and OTA will replace in iOS 5.

    Don't ask me why I would want to do that please.
     
  2. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
  3. iStudentUK macrumors 65816

    iStudentUK

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Without even having to check I am 99.9% sure the answer would be yes you can still use cables.

    I can think of some reasons why you would want to, no need to pre-empt abuse! A few people don't have wifi at home (my old uni didn't allow wifi, only ethernet), if you are travelling and don't have wifi signal.
     
  4. dubnde thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    For all the things that wireless and OTA will replace in iOS 5.
     
  5. dubnde thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Thanks for the response. I was assuming the same but was just wondering if it is explicitly stated for iOS 5.
     
  6. iStudentUK macrumors 65816

    iStudentUK

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #6
    I can't find it in black and white, but information will develop as iOS 5 matures and developers play with it more. For now, all I can say is that Apple's site says there is no need for a PC, which I'd say means wireless is an option not a requirement, but that is tentative at best!
     
  7. diamond.g macrumors 603

    diamond.g

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #7
    I remember reading somewhere on this site that the Wireless Sync isn't active yet. So you still have to 'tether' to sync.
     
  8. shandyman Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #8
    nope, syncing fine at the mo via wifi, not tether...
     
  9. diamond.g macrumors 603

    diamond.g

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #9
    how?
     
  10. VPrime macrumors 68000

    VPrime

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    London Ontario
    #10
    You sure? Syncing with iTuens over wifi is not working right now.
    You can backup with iCloud though.
     
  11. shandyman Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #11
    it did it on the first go, but nothing since. fluke maybe!
     

Share This Page