iOS11+ipad slide/split view

Discussion in 'iOS 11' started by fokmik, Jun 18, 2017.

  1. fokmik macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    So, in order to have an app in split view, you must have it on the dock?
    its very unusual for Apple, maybe you need one time the need for an app that it isnt on the dock, so you have to go home, drag that app into the dock or to open that app from home
     
  2. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #2
    No. You can put an app from anywhere in split view. Search this very forum or look at YouTube for demos.
     
  3. stooovie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    #3
    You can, but that requires you to quit the first app first. OP has it right. Not elegant, not ideal.
     
  4. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #4
    It doesn’t require you to “quit” it and it doesn’t require you to “drag that app into the dock or open that app from home”. Neither he, nor you, have it right.

    It also looks likely that spotlight will be an option I.e. Drag down, drag right, start typing your app name
    It’s broken right now, most of the time it doesn’t let you drag at all and when it does sometimes bad things happen.

    The workflow is likely to change in small but meaningful ways during the beta cycle. No matter what changes are made or not made though, there will surely be some having a dramatic cry about it.
     
  5. stooovie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    #5
    I have the beta installed and have seen many videos too. You can't freely select an app for split view without it being in Dock or without going to Springboard first, like you could with 9 and 10. OP and I have it right. Feel free to demonstrate otherwise.
     
  6. gmillz22 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Location:
    New York
    #6
    Chiming in. From my experience you have to either have it in the dock already or go to the home screen. Open the app you desire from the home screen, then swipe in the second app from the dock.
     
  7. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #7
    OP said you can’t bring an app into split unless and you said you had to quit it. Neither are true. Only now are you saying you have to go to Springboard if an app isn’t in the dock, which is indeed correct (at least for now. It looks like Spotlight will an option too). I don’t think the new model is perfect or can’t be improved upon, as-is, but lets not misrepresent what has been said.

    As for “being able to freely select”. The previous method of sliding through all apps was nearly universally derided, and rightly so. It practically seemed to randomize app order, other than the last few opened. In this model you find your app exactly where you left in the home screen.

    That’s not correct. You can go to the home screen, pick up an app, swipe in to multi-tasking and drop it on an existing space.
     
  8. gmillz22 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Location:
    New York
    #8
    You just said the same thing I did, but with different words. The only point I was trying to make is in order to multi-task you either 1. Have to have the app in the dock or 2. Access the home screen in order to drag another app. Maybe my words were slightly confusing.
     
  9. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #9
    I didn’t quite say the same thing. You don’t have to open the app from the home screen to get it into split view. You can drag the icon directly from home without opening it.
     
  10. gmillz22 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Location:
    New York
    #10
    You win, bud. Enjoy your "victory", iPad and iOS 11. :)
     
  11. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #11
    It wasn’t an attempt to win anything. There’s a lot of misunderstanding of how the feature works right now (see: this thread, it’s OP and stoovie) and I was really just trying to clarify how it works.

    Edit: I took quotations off of the word win above because it made it read sarcastically or combatively and it wasn’t my intention for this post or any other in this thread.
     
  12. pacorob, Jun 20, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2017

    pacorob macrumors 68000

    pacorob

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #12
    By looking at this video I've noticed (5.41min) that Slide Over looks different. It doesn't use the screen from top to bottom which bugs me a bit. Why not use the full size of the screen from top to bottom as in iOS9/10?

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #13

    Slideover was always on top of an app (the clue is in the name). Split view is side by side.

    Am I misunderstanding you here?
     
  14. pacorob macrumors 68000

    pacorob

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #14
    SlideOver on iOS9/10 is almost fully shown from top the bottom which isn't the case on iOS11.
    I know it's on top of an existing app with SlideOver.

    [​IMG]
     
  15. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #15
    Ah! Now I see what you mean. Yes it does seem a little odd to not use that extra space.
     
  16. Mascots macrumors 65816

    Mascots

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    #16
    Use a folder to place multiple items in your dock if you don't want to jump back home.

    You can pin it to the an edge, on either side, by dragging down on the toggle at the top
     
  17. MachCrit macrumors regular

    MachCrit

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    Location:
    Lurking About the Planet
    #17
    Cool, thanks for the tip!
     
  18. melancholy macrumors member

    melancholy

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2016
    #18
    Slide Over is different on iOS 11, when you have an app in Slide Over—tapping the main app, the Slide Over app doesn’t go away. It is now a hovering app. You’re gonna have to think it’s an overlaying window.

    Having this hovering app means, you can move it either from the right or left side. When you make this app pin side by side with the main app, you can the 3 apps on display without making the UI confusing when you bring up another Slide Over app, it’s also so that it doesn’t cover the pinned app that may be underneath the Slide Over app
     
  19. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #19

    Fair point. I’d been seeing it from the perspective of my 9.7” Pro where if I already have apps split and I activate slideover the apps in the back pause and grey out, making it obvious (in addition to lacking a side handle) that it is indeed a slideover app. For 4Gb devices though that limitation doesn’t apply. Like you say, the separation makes it visually obvious that it’s a slideover, with the different rules that apply like being able to move it to the other side with a quick swipe.
     
  20. gsmornot macrumors 68030

    gsmornot

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #20
    I read your other explanations but still struggle with your answer. I have 4 apps on my dock at the moment. If I have an app open on the main screen that is not on my dock, say Amazon and do a slide over of Messages (which is on my dock) I get the slide over fine. What I dont get is the option to make it split view. Split view being two apps sharing the screen space with the slider in the middle to adjust the ratio and the ability to slide the second app away. To restate, when I have Amazon open and slide over an app from my dock I cannot move the second app into a split view. The only way I have found to do that is to hide the slide over app, open an app from my dock on the main screen, bring the app back in and then pull down to move it into a split view. Then I can adjust ratio or slide it away.

    I struggle with your reply where you say an app does not need to be in the dock in order for another app to enter split view. Maybe it happens to be my dock apps are native, dont know. Hope you get what I'm saying.
     
  21. pacorob macrumors 68000

    pacorob

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #21
    Thanks for confirming this moving of the Slide Over app is possible. I assume it's not possible to enlarge the size can you? So to show from top to bottom of the screen?
     
  22. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #22
    It sounds like you're on the right track with the interaction but Amazon app isn't compatible with split view. If you try the same thing with an app that is, it should work.
     
  23. Mascots macrumors 65816

    Mascots

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    #23
    Amazon on iPad does not support split screening so you won't be able to do it on any version of iOS.

    If you open an app that supports split screening, after you open a slide over, you are then able to grab the toggle at the top of the slide-over window and pull down down. That will snap it into the two-active split screen apps with the grabber to resize in the middle.
     
  24. zerolight macrumors 6502

    zerolight

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #24
    I presume apps still need to be split or slide enabled? Bugs me that Spotify, Tidal, Deezer, all of which have mobile apps aren't split or slide over enabled. How much work can it be to switch to iPhone UI when in slide over or split, as a quick fix to give users multitasking from those apps. The fact they've not been updated to accommodate this in over a year suggests it's not gonna happen. Lots of apps don't bother. I'm excited for iOS 11 but I worry there'll be few apps that take advantage of it.
     
  25. pacorob macrumors 68000

    pacorob

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #25
    I think Apple should be more strict in this and ask the developers (also of major apps) to add this to their apps otherwise this Slide Over/Split View doesn't have the same impact on the users and won't be used much. I love to get my music app (MusicSense) on my iPad mini2 via Slide Over currently.
     

Share This Page