iPad iPad 4th gen 64GB for 250€ - worth it?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by vladobizik, Feb 5, 2015.

1. vladobizik macrumors 6502

I used to be a long-time iPad user but this fall I sold my venerable iPad mini in favor of an iPhone 6 Plus. Over time I have started to realize that I could still actually use an iPad and I miss it a lot. So I have started looking into getting a full-size model as a mini would be too similar the my iPhone in size.
    I found an offer in my area with a guy selling a seller-refurbished iPad 4 with 64GB (WiFi model) for 250€ (less than $300).

It would be my secondary or actually tertiary device, I would browse the web, read and occasionally game. Certainly no "serious" work.

Do you think it's a good deal? Do you think it makes any sense to buy such old technology in 2015?

I am a well informed tech geek, I realize the tradeoffs and limitations, I just want to know another persons' opinions as to whether or not it is rational to buy such a machine in this day and age and whether or not you think the asking price is a good deal.
    Thanks!

2. s2mikey macrumors 68020

s2mikey

The ipad 4 is still a great tablet and I just bought my oldest daughter one. $250 for that storage is a decent deal but make sure you know exactly what seller refurbished means. Is it covered by Apple and does it have a one year warranty? If so, I woild go for it. If not, might be worth shopping around more.

The 4th gen iPad is a good product though and will last a while. No worries there.

3. vladobizik thread starter macrumors 6502

Unfortunately, it probably has no kind of warranty. The seller sent me a photo of the purchase receipt saying it was bought in November 2012, which makes it just past the standard EU 2-year warranty.
    I did not expect a tablet this old to come with warranty anyway.
    But I have photos of the product and it looks to be in a great physical condition, it comes with the original box, a lightning cable and a wall adapter.