iPad Pro 12.9 (1st gen) & iOS 11 makes me wanna scream...

Discussion in 'iOS 11' started by vbctv, Jun 17, 2017.

  1. vbctv macrumors 6502

    vbctv

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #1
    So for the last almost 2 weeks I have had no issues with iOS 11 running on my iPad Pro. Tip today that was. It all started with a graphic glitch, I couldn't go into a folder without it trying to delete apps. So I went to restart my iPad. Stuck on apple logo for over 20 minutes. So did a restore to iOS 10.3.2 then OTA to iOS 11. Restored from Backup then. Everything was going great until...
    Another graphic glitch, same issue. Restarted, same thing again. So now I'm staying with iOS 10.3.2 until the next beta. It seems there is a bug that makes the iPad get stuck in a boot loop. And my battery was full both times.
    The 2nd time I had to DFU because restore mode would not work. So I'm not to happy with Apple currently.
     
  2. adnbek macrumors 65816

    adnbek

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #2
    You're not happy with Apple that their BETA software has bugs?

    Edit: ah my apologies. After looking at your positing history, I'm guessing you need to use it for a living. Just too many ppl here install it just for curiosity's sake then moan about how it's all buggy.
     
  3. markusbeutel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    #3
    Had zero issues with IOS 11 on first-gen 12.9 aside from the fact that it wasn’t nearly as smooth as 10.3.2 and lagged a decent amount.

    Upgraded to 2nd-gen 12.9 and it’s buttery smooth. IOS11 for iPad was clearly designed for the 10.5 and 2nd-gen 12.9.
     
  4. gobikerider macrumors 68000

    gobikerider

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Location:
    United States
    #4
    Try again with the Public Preview 1 (aka beta 2) I bet you all these major bugs and device breaking issues wont exist. As for Beta 1, well idk what you really expected for Christ sake o_Oits BETA 1, they dont do a public beta with it for a reason :D:p:rolleyes:
     
  5. Solver macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    #5
    iOS 11 beta 1 works mostly great on my iPad Air 2 but won't finish the final reboot on my iPhone 6.
    Instead of screaming, I'll just wait for iOS 11 beta 2.
     
  6. gobikerider macrumors 68000

    gobikerider

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Location:
    United States
    #6
    Thanks you
     
  7. chfilm macrumors 65816

    chfilm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #7
    Performance on my 1st gen 12.9" is really bad. Do you guys think this is a beta thing, or will it stay this way? Right now I'm torn what to do- I have a 1st gen 12.9 and the 10.5 here with one week left for the return window. I'm absolutely incapable of deciding which size to go for
     
  8. d5aqoëp macrumors 6502a

    d5aqoëp

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    #8
    Wait out few more betas and install the beta that is available in August. It should be features complete and more stable.
    I had similar issue with iPad Air 1 where it used to reboot randomly and it was not fixed from 8.0 beta 1 until iOS 8.1
     
  9. K4LK macrumors 6502

    K4LK

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #9
    Maybe you have a hardware problem. I am running all beta 1s on all my daily drivers. A few glitches here and there but otherwise great.
     
  10. Wildkraut macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
  11. stevemiller macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #11
    Obviously will withhold judgement till it's official release, but I will find it very problematic if iOS renders a year and a half old $1000 "pro" device substantially less performant doing the same tasks it did prior to the update.

    Again I'd also accept it more if they didn't push updates so aggressively with no way to revert.
     
  12. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #12
    No need to not be happy with Apple. If anything, you should be unhappy with yourself for installing a Developer preview on devices you need, and then complaining about the results. You are to blame for your problems not Apple.
     
  13. Poontaco macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    #13
    They aggressively pushed this first beta on you did they?
    You must be joking.
    It's so strange that newer generation beta software isn't performing the same on your last generation device. So so strange.
     
  14. garlicbread24 macrumors member

    garlicbread24

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
  15. Aluminum213 macrumors 68040

    Aluminum213

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    #15
    It's Apple once again crippling older hardware to entice you to buy a new shiny piece of hardware
     
  16. stevemiller macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #16
    Clearly didn't read the "obviously I will withhold judgement..." part. :rolleyes:
     
  17. its93rc macrumors 6502

    its93rc

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #17
    It runs great on mine. The only issue for me is battery-life, but it’s decent for Beta 1.
     
  18. DaveOP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #18
    This makes no sense. A Bug in a BETA is not indicative of new hardware needed.
     
  19. OldSchoolMacGuy macrumors 68030

    OldSchoolMacGuy

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #19
    It's a developer beta. Apple makes it VERY clear that you will experience bugs. They also make you agree that you're installing it on a testing device, not your normal device.

    Bugs in a beta (especially a very early beta or initial release beta) are to be expected, no matter what company is releasing the software. It's ignorant to expect otherwise after being warned repeatedly. Report it and move on.
     
  20. AmazingTechGeek macrumors 6502

    AmazingTechGeek

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    #20
    Beta 2 is out now if you want to give it another go
     
  21. jazz1 macrumors 65816

    jazz1

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Location:
    Mid-West USA
    #21
    I have beta 1. How do I get beta 2?
     
  22. vbctv thread starter macrumors 6502

    vbctv

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #22
    Beta 2 seems to work much better. Though I have not tried to restart yet...
     
  23. jschu22 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    #23
    If you’re asking this question I’d venture to say you shouldn’t have been on beta 1 in the first place.
     
  24. jazz1 macrumors 65816

    jazz1

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Location:
    Mid-West USA
    #24
    Thanks for your help. I was missing the part about downloading the profile.
     

Share This Page