Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

soulmateme

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 23, 2009
Glasgow
Hi there, i'm a newbie so excuse me if my post has been done a million times before.

Basically i applied for an iphone today via the apple store and was refused a contract, which is annoying, so basically i'm planning on saving up and buying an unlocked one from somewhere.

I'm based in the UK and would be after a factory unlocked iphone 3gs, preferably white and 16gig.

if anyone can advise me on places to buy from/people to buy from or countries which i could buy in then ship over here i'd be very grateful.

i'm on a contract with Virgin at the moment which has unlimited internet and instead of taking on another contract i'd rather just buy an unlocked iphone and use the existing sim i have.

oh and any advice on jailbreaking etc is welcome too, as i've heard that updating the phone once unlocked manually can cause problems and i ain't too good with code etc so wouldn't want to risk screwing it up...best for me to stick with an already unlocked one so i don't break it!

cheers, craig.

OriginalFormula

macrumors regular
Apr 14, 2009
The closest place to buy one unlocked would probably be France. The easiest however, I believe, would be Italy.

Moi un Mouton

macrumors 68000
Mar 18, 2008
Bracknell UK
Well, part of the answer to this is a question: which countries do you have friends in? Another is which phone model do you want?

There are some countries where Apple legally has to sell the phone unlocked - eg Belgium, Italy, Hong Kong, Australia (but NOT France!). If you have a friend in one of these countries the best thing to do is get them to buy you the phone. Ideally Hong Kong, it seems to be the cheapest.

If you can't do that, your choices come down to this: