iPhone 3Gs Ver 4.0 Firmware 05.13.04 Is it possible to jailbreak?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by JakRox, Sep 10, 2010.

1. JakRox macrumors member

I am new to jailbreak, so please excuse my total ignorance. I have searched, but I am still confused by the myriad of terms and situations one could find them self in on any configuration of iPhone.

Having said that, this is my situation.

I have iPhone 3Gs, Version 4 with Firmware 05.13.04. Never jailbroken. I want to jailbreak to put Cydia on it so I can then buy, download and run MiWi to share my data with my wifi iPad.

From the reading and searching I have done, I am confused about different situations which you can or can not jailbreak. Some things depend on your Firmware number and you have to take it back down or you can't even jailbreak. Or, some things I've read say you can't do it past a certain point of update on your phone.

I have never jailbroken my phone, as you can tell my my lack of savvy.

I was hoping someone could give me direction to instructions or advise or let me know if it's possible, or have I updated my phone too high to do this.

Much appreciation for your taking this time to read this thread.

Tim

2. macrazee macrumors regular

Absolutely, it is possible. If you are using 4.0.1 or below, simply direct your phone over to jailbreakme.com and take care of business :) Be sure to install the Cydia PDF patch afterwards. Do NOT update beyond 4.0.1, as there is nothing for that at this time.

3. JakRox thread starter macrumors member

Thank you for the lead.
    I used Jailbreakme, and I did the PDF patch. When I click on Cydia, I see like an advertised line saying MyWi 4.0, but when I click on it, it says:
    Note: Cannot Locate Package.
    Then it goes on to tell me The package com.mywi4 cannot be found in your current sources.

I'm lost with this. I've restarted, but that didn't help.
    I've done a search, and that does not come up in the searches.

Any advise please?