iPhone 4 — Start fresh or set up from back up?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by TyWahn, Jul 9, 2010.

  1. TyWahn macrumors 6502

    TyWahn

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    #1
    I just got my iPhone 4. Still in the box.
    I can't decide whether to start it fresh or set it up from the last back up of my 3G.
    I am not worried about having to set up my email account, wifi, BT... etc
    i AM worried about importing potential problems from my old 3G which has been so laggy and not working right. Especially since I upgraded to iOS4.
    I want to add the apps back that I actually use.
    Has anybody gone this route?
    What should I expect first time I plug it into iTunes? Is this going to be a problem activating my new phone so it actually works and is able to make and receive calls?
    Thanks..
     
  2. Benji222 macrumors 65816

    Benji222

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Location:
    So Cal
    #2
    I would suggest as new. Less problems I think.
    Make sure your ok with loosing things like app data(i think)
     
  3. wineandcarbs macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    #3
    From what I've read, people seem to be suggesting to set up as new.
     
  4. sheppy1 macrumors 6502a

    sheppy1

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    #4
    I restored from a Backup and have had no problems in the 2 weeks I've been using it...
     
  5. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #5
    Make sure you everything you can sync synced for the old iPhone, and then for the iPhone 4, setup as new and then sync everything over. You’ll lose app data and game saves (and text messages).
     
  6. Primejimbo macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    Around
    #6
    I set up from back up and no problems at all. My wife did the same also and she hasn't had any issues either.
     
  7. JohnnyQuest macrumors 65816

    JohnnyQuest

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    #7
    I had a 2G iPhone, then a 3GS. When I purchased the 3GS I restored from backup. I had text messages from 2.5 years ago, so I decided to start fresh. If you have been experiencing problems with your 3G, I suggest setting up as new.
     
  8. Sgt93 macrumors 6502a

    Sgt93

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Location:
    Retired'ville
    #8
    Same here! No problems.
     
  9. bushbaby macrumors 6502

    bushbaby

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    SoCal
    #9
    Set up as new.

    Otherwise you'll end up like a lot of us who first set us as a restore from the old phone, then had to set up as new. This has really been a pain.
     
  10. Biff... macrumors 6502a

    Biff...

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, CA.
    #10
    Set up as new. I restored from back up and had problems with my 3g dropping to Edge. Went to the Apple store and was told that I should have set up as new from the start, so I re dd everything and my problem went away.
     
  11. steve knight macrumors 68020

    steve knight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #11
    going from 3g to 3gs I had poor battery life. did a fresh phone and battery life was great. it may not show up or you may no get as good of battery life but I bet there are always some issues.
     
  12. HighTopFade macrumors regular

    HighTopFade

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    Daly City
    #12
    Restored from Backup. Too Lazy to enter 4 email accounts, loading Apps, and setting preference.
     
  13. lionqueen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    #13
    I restored from back up accidentally - I didn't want to but wasn't paying attention I guess. Can I go in now and re-set up as a new phone?
     

Share This Page