iPhone 4 16gb, now shows 25gb free capacity??how it is possible??

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by rj8911, Apr 13, 2011.

  1. rj8911 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    #1
    I bought my iPhone 4 16gb from singapore befor 3-4 months.
    I am using it from first day now it shows 25gb free memory i cant understand how is it possible???


    In itunes it shows 16gb but in windows explorer it shows 3.9gb used and 25gb free storage capacity.
    Is my iphone 4 16gb is actually 32gb??

    What should i do to gain full 25 gb memory??
     
  2. ucfgrad93 macrumors P6

    ucfgrad93

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #2
    What does the phone say? Go to Settings>General>About and see what is listed under capacity.
     
  3. rj8911 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    #3
    It shows 16GB but why does windows explorer shows storage as 32GB iphone have??
     
  4. vachargerfan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    #4
    Gates is playing a practical joke on you.



    Seriously, no clue. You tried rebooting your PC?
     
  5. HazyCloud macrumors 68030

    HazyCloud

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #5
    I've been wondering this myself. iTunes displays the correct amount of storage on my 32, but Windows 7 does not.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. applefanDrew macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #6
    Cause that's what happens when you use clunky, pc software. They can't even report capacity correctly.
     
  7. rj8911 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    #7
    it means its windows problem not iphone?? okey...
     
  8. nukem170 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
  9. rj8911 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    #9
    LOL... Bill has been underground since iproducts has crashed microproducts.:D:D
     
  10. HazyCloud macrumors 68030

    HazyCloud

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #10
    What? A Windows bash here? No way! :cool: (For the record, I use Win 7 at work since I'm waiting on the iMacs to be refreshed.)
     
  11. ucfgrad93 macrumors P6

    ucfgrad93

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #11
    It seems like there is an issue with Windows.
     
  12. rovex macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    #12
    I wonder if Mr.Gates owns one Apple product.
     
  13. decafjava macrumors 68000

    decafjava

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Location:
    Geneva
    #13
    If I weren't a gamer I'd have left Windows a long time ago.
     
  14. ps89 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    #14
    Windows has been showing incorrect capacity for iPhones since iOS 4.2.1, if I'm not mistaken.
     
  15. LightSpeed1 macrumors 6502a

    LightSpeed1

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Location:
    Washington D.C.
  16. HazyCloud macrumors 68030

    HazyCloud

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #16
    If that's right, thanks. I haven't been able to find any info on it.
     
  17. ps89 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    #17
    No problem. At least this is what I observed. :)
     
  18. vincenz macrumors 601

    vincenz

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #18
    I'm curious about this.
     
  19. barkingDog macrumors regular

    barkingDog

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    #19
    Mine (32GB) has always displayed a similar phenomenon.

    In Explorer, it reads:

    [iPhone icon] "17GB free of 46GB"


    FWIW:

    I've found the "Capacity" + "Available" = approximately the total storage shown in Windows Explorer.

    Thus, 29GB (Capacity) + 17GB (Available) = 46GB.

    I noticed this months ago, and the math just approximately adds up that way. Go figure.
     
  20. barkingDog macrumors regular

    barkingDog

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    #20
    Theoretically, if you fill a 32GB iPhone and peek at Windows Explorer, you'd see something close to:

    [zero]GB free of 58GB (given that 29GB is the capacity)

    But I'm fine with iTunes properly recognizing the correct amount of data I've slapped on the device. (Not to mention the process which ucfgrad93 described in Post #2 about checking it under the settings -- which also verifies the situation correctly.)
     
  21. Givmeabrek macrumors 68040

    Givmeabrek

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Location:
    NY
    #21
    Don't be silly. Filling up the phone will probably just lock it and and force you to restore it.

    My 32GB phone shows 29GB in iTunes and 45GB in Win7. Should I care? Of course not. My phone works great! :D
     
  22. sjinsjca macrumors 68000

    sjinsjca

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #22
    I asked Steve Ballmer. He said, "It's 16GB of flash RAM, plus 9GB of unicorn tears."
     

Share This Page