iPhone 4 still a good phone?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by theuserjohnny, May 5, 2013.

1. theuserjohnny macrumors 6502

I'm in the mist of restoring it (got it unlocked). I'm currently using a Google Nexus 4 and prior to that I had a Samsung Galaxy S3 (now broken). I know I won't get 4GLTE but other than that will it still be good for today's usage?

I got it off my Aunt for free because she upgraded to the Samsung Galaxy S4. Her boyfriend is due for an upgrade later this year and he has the iPhone 5 and I've already talked to them about maybe purchasing it off of them for that nephew's discount or if I'm lucky they'll just give it to me as a gift.

2. Ann P macrumors 68020

Yes, still a good device for today's standards. You got it for free so enjoy it. :)

3. theuserjohnny thread starter macrumors 6502

I shall this is my first time actually using an iPhone (and not using friends or seeing them in stores).

4. TacticalDesire macrumors 68020

TacticalDesire

It's fine for basic things such as texting, phone calls, email, navigation etc. But apps will load slowly and seeing as how it didn't get much out of the iOS6 update I wouldn't expect much from iOS7 either.

5. Mrbobb macrumors 601

Since it's his first time, what he doesn't know won't hurt him. Ooooops. ;)

6. vistadude macrumors 65816

It's average at best, using yesterdays technology. It will probably be a lot slower then your nexus 4. But it's more pocket friendly then most smartphones and has most of the useful features from google's apps.

7. theuserjohnny thread starter macrumors 6502

Surprisingly it isn't that bad. I mean I honestly don't do anything "intensive" I mainly use it for social media (instagram, facebook) and then the occasional video watching and surfing the web.

I was easily able to just import all my contacts via google onto my rMBP and then straight onto the phone.