Iphone 4s Cellular data not working after updating from ios 5.0.1 to 5.1.1

OJ^

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 3, 2012
5
0
So, as the thread title says I have the problem that my cellular data does not work anymore.

I was on a jailbroken 5.0.1 for a long time, then last weekend when the untethered jailbreak for the 5.1.1 came, I updated to that and applied the new jailbreak. Did this over the weekend, then Monday morning on my way to work on the train noticed that my 3G is not working anymore, the entire icon next to the carrier name is gone.

Ive double and triple checked that the cellular data network settings are correct, re-setted them and entered them again etc, and no luck. As I thought that maybe this is a problem due to 5.1.1, I went and downgraded back to 5.0.1 today with redsn0w, but the same thing - I don't have cellular data anymore, the icon is not there, nor does it work when you try to use Safari etc.

Any ideas what could be wrong? Could it be that something has broken hardware wise? This is driving me nuts, as without the cellular data this Iphone is half useless, and now that the downgrade didn't help either, I have no clue what to try next.

*edit* and also since the cellular data stopped working, I cannot either send any SMS. Can receive them though.

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated!
 
Last edited:

OJ^

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 3, 2012
5
0
Anyone?

I'm at a loss here as to what to do... :(
 

enoC

macrumors 6502
Jul 2, 2009
403
4
Denmark
Restore and set it up as new. If that doesn't work, can't you take it to an Apple store?
 

OJ^

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 3, 2012
5
0
Yeah, I will try that next, restoring and setting up as new. But the thing is, I do wanna restore my settings etc as well, so can I then restore them afterwards? To restore from iCloud backup.

The problem about taking it back for repair/to get a new one is that I'm from Finland but I live in Spain, and I bought it from Finland last November without any contract, so I have to take it to Finland for repair I think, to the operator from which I bought it. And the problem is they will not just straight away give me a new one, but it will go to the repair centre, and they didn't give me any guarantees how long it will take to either get it fixed or to get a new one. I am actually going to Finland next week, but only for 6 days, so for sure I won't get it back in time.

That's the reason why I'm really trying everything to solve this myself.
 

Mac.80

macrumors newbie
Dec 18, 2008
11
1
I have the same problem. My carrier (Etisalat in UAE) is unable to assist. Any ideas?
 

kmbaz

macrumors newbie
May 25, 2012
2
0
Same problem here. I posted on Apple discussion forums a little bit ago. There's a group over there discussing the same issue. It does not seem to be too widespread, but does seem to be a growing problem. Restarting the phone and/or resetting network settings are the two (short-term) solutions. The problem consistently comes back.

Here's the thread:
https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3852850?start=0&tstart=0
 

jdr00ejr

macrumors newbie
Oct 26, 2011
22
0
I'm on Verizon and experience the same issues. Wish I had information to share but mostly replying here to watch and hope someone has better details.
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.