iPhone 4s phone number

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by oscarm, Aug 5, 2012.

  1. oscarm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    #1
    I bought this sprint iPhone 4s from this one dude that i never see around anymore, the thing is that it still has his number like programed into it. it seems to support both cdma and gsm networks on there, i already took the sim card out but the signal is still there along with the number, is there any way i could like erase it?
     
  2. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #2
    The iPhone is still active, that's why it's still getting service. Could be a phone that was stolen, and hasn't been reported as lost yet.
     
  3. oscarm thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    #3
    is there anyway to take that number off? like delete some files through ifile?
     
  4. RocketRed macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    #4
    i dont think "deleting some files" on a CDMA iPhone will get rid of the previous owner's phone number.

    If you bought it from "this one dude", you should meet him in a Sprint store and see what Sprint can do with you (assuming you're with Sprint, as you bought/stole a Sprint iPhone).
     
  5. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #5
    You would need to activate the iPhone on your Sprint line (that's if you have them as a provider).
     
  6. oscarm thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    #6
    lol i mean its a phone, everything runs off files and ****, im pretty sure that there has to be a file in there that has something to do with the number and or sprint services
     
  7. RocketRed macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    #7
    Why don't you just go straight to Sprint and see what they can do for you? What have you got to lose? :eek:
     
  8. AAPLinc macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #8
    You bought a stolen phone. That was dumb. I hope the phone is useless to you.
     
  9. oscarm thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    #9
    The sprint store is pretty far from where i live, i don't feel like driving an hour just for an iphone, thats why i came on here
     
  10. likethesoup2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    #10
    If it's 'just an iphone', then why are you even worried about it?

    Since it's 'just an iphone', go on the Sprint web site and order a brand new one and have it overnighted to you. That way you'll know your 'just an iphone' will be working perfectly.

    And, since it's 'just an iphone' - why did you even go through this?
     
  11. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #11
    Call them?
     
  12. 725032 Guest

    725032

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    #12
    WOW... Calm down!
     
  13. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #13
    Your answer was already given. You need to contact Sprint. Period.
     
  14. fullmanfullninj, Aug 5, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 6, 2012

    fullmanfullninj macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    #14
    As batting1000 said, you got your answer. You need to contact Sprint. If you don't want to drive an hour or whatever to get it taken care of, that's fine...it just depends on how much you want your iPhone to be usable.

    If the number on the phone is still active after you bought it, there is a slight possibility (please note: this does not translate to me saying "OMG YOU STOLE A PHONE!!1!!1") that the phone you bought from "this one dude who [you] never see around anymore" was stolen.

    If this phone belonged to the guy you bought it from, why wouldn't he change his number to a new device? It does not seem likely. There is a slight possibility (see note above) that the phone was obtained through illegitimate means.

    But you need to contact Sprint if you want to deactivate the phone and put your number on it. To do this though, you might need the previous account holder's information as I believe you cannot just deactivate a phone from a line without consent of the previous owner.
     
  15. nostresshere macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    #15
    If it has his phone number, then it is still "attached" to that phone number.

    Have you called Sprint or anyone to set up an account.

    Not sure where you have been for the past few years, but to use a cell phone, you have to set up service with the carrier. You can not..


    why am I wasting my time here?
     
  16. ET iPhone Home macrumors 68040

    ET iPhone Home

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    Orange County, California USA
    #16
    I'd call customer service. They can change the number for you over the phone. I've done it many times with Sprint.
     
  17. oscarm thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    #17
    lol i agree, why are you wasting you time here?

    ----------

    yeah ill see whats up, i just need to unlock it to att with rsim 5 i bought. you got any idea on how to use it?
     

Share This Page