iPhone 4s UK on 02 tethering question

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Britishlion, Nov 19, 2011.

  1. Britishlion macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi everyone

    I want to tether my iPad to my 4s and am on 02 uk, I know it is not allowed but I am a very light user with unlimited data package

    The phone is on 5.01 but I have no option to set up hotspot in settings

    Does anyone know a workaround ?


    Thanks in advance :D
     
  2. Littleman macrumors regular

    Littleman

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    #2
    I have an iphone4 on ios5 on o2.

    I also went onto the data package that includes tethering. I think they sent me an update via itunes or maybe it was OTA?

    Anyway, I didn't have the personal hotspot option when i installed ios5 so I reset all network settings from the phone and it came back.

    Not sure this will help if you aren't on a tethering data package to begin with, but it might?

    Mark
     
  3. bp1000 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    #3
    The iPhone needs specific tether settings and you will only get them fro O2 If you get a bolt on.

    I only need it rarely so I have a giffgaff sim in an old device.
     
  4. Britishlion thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Cheers guys !

    I am on giffgaff too , but runs on 02 ! ,

    Is their a jailbreak route or app ?

    :confused:
     
  5. SilentLoner macrumors 65816

    SilentLoner

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I love the hotspot feature
     
  6. Britishlion thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    I would love it too if giffgaff would activate it ?
     
  7. Britishlion thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    UK
  8. SilentLoner macrumors 65816

    SilentLoner

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    They won't because it's a subsidiary company of O2. Jb is your only way.
     
  9. Seamaster macrumors 6502a

    Seamaster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    #9
    Switch to a network that allows free tethering. Plenty of choice in the UK.
     
  10. rowley macrumors 6502

    rowley

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #10
    Tethering on o2 using ios4.3+ uses your monthly data quota, no need to buy bolt-ons.
     
  11. Britishlion thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #11


    Which Uk companies allow free tethering ?
     
  12. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #12
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    O2 does it comes out Of your quota unless like me your still on unlimited then your stuck.

    Just to clarify if your on the unlimited package then you need to add the tethering package!

    If you have the 500/1000/2000mb packages then you can turn personal hotspot on and it'll take away from your data allowance!
     
  13. Seamaster macrumors 6502a

    Seamaster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    #13
    Google is your friend.
     
  14. bp1000 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    #14
    Sorry I should have been clear.

    When I said I used giffgaff with an old device I meant it was an android device with tethering unlocked by default.

    The only 2 ways on the iPhone is with a tether bolt on or with an older iOS jailbreak.
     
  15. Seamaster macrumors 6502a

    Seamaster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    #15
    Or change network.
     
  16. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #16
    That's not strictly true. I'm on O2 with an unlimited data plan and I don't have a tethering option. My understanding is that I would have to get a bolt on.

    ----------

    Changing networks just to get free tethering is not necessarily a good idea.
     
  17. andylyon macrumors 6502a

    andylyon

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #17
    Try 'Three Mobile' I am light tetherer but used it daily very lightly.
     
  18. Seamaster macrumors 6502a

    Seamaster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    #18
    Neither is jailbreaking just to get it.
     
  19. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #19
    Three has the worst customer service of all the UK networks. When it works it's fine but when something goes wrong or is broken then it's very difficult to get it resolved.
     
  20. andylyon macrumors 6502a

    andylyon

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #20
    I've had no problem with them, it's the second time i've been with them and fortunately enough i've never had to call customer services - with I suppose is only a good thing!
     
  21. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #21
    You're probably one of the lucky ones. I've heard a lot of negative stories regards issues dealing with Three customer service.
     
  22. andylyon macrumors 6502a

    andylyon

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #22
    Well there must be a few of us 'lucky ones' as most my family and friends are on Three without any problems, we have never needed to call them, the rest are on GiffGaff.
     
  23. Seamaster macrumors 6502a

    Seamaster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    #23
    Three's customer service could charitably be described as ****, but their 3G network is better than the others' by a country mile, and their SIM-only 30-day contracts are unbeatable.
     

Share This Page