iPhone 5 AT&T is Unlocked when purchased at full price

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by iw01f, Sep 21, 2012.

  1. iw01f macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    #1
    Hello guys,


    for all of you who are wondering if the iPhone 5 AT&t is unlocked. I'm here to confirm from personal experience. I got my iPhone 5 earlier today. I asked to pay the full price hoping to find it unlocked like what happened with the iPhone 4s. anyhow, I took my T-mobile SIM and cut it to match the nano SIM size and walllla:D .. my iPhone was activated and working on T-mobile with 3G signal.

    here's a screenshot that i took from my iPhone to confirm ..


    [​IMG]
     
  2. Juan007 macrumors 6502a

    Juan007

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #2
    Nice, was the same way for 4S at launch also... Apple reps won't admit it, but it's true - pay full price and you get unlocked.

    Fortunately I got the $17 Ebay unlock, don't need to spend $650 this time! I will put the savings toward... iPhone 5S!!
     
  3. aziatiklover macrumors 68030

    aziatiklover

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
    #3
    How much was full price? $649.99 or $699.99. Cuz I remember last year I paid $699.99 plus tax for a full price att version.

    Ps: how do you get 3G with Tmobile? Lol
     
  4. chrismarle macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    using the 1900mhz 3G frequencies :p
     
  5. CACTUARU macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    #5
    I paid full price for mine through Apple. Is there any way to tell if this works other than using a T-Mobile SIM card?
     
  6. apierrec macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    #6
    $649 at Apple and mostly everyone $699 or more (like Sprint? :eek:).
     
  7. aziatiklover macrumors 68030

    aziatiklover

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
    #7
    Well I know that! But where at? Cuz tmobile spectrum refarm is not live in all cities or states! I heard monday would be vegas!

    Yea if it works on tmobile it would work else where. Or u can always check this imei unlock site.
     
  8. milan03 macrumors 6502

    milan03

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    New York City
    #8
    I thought we all knew that by now... It's been discussed numerous times.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. apierrec macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    #9
    T-Mobile is alive and kicking with a 3G :eek:

    Lol

    I was with them during the dumb phone era (when Nokia is the king of cool). T-Mo has great customer service (and cheap, you will get lot of international rate discounts etc) but now in this speediest is the king era I'd rather deactivate my cell phone service if they are the only carrier in town. Pretty much dead wherever I lived. :D
     
  10. schizbomb macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Location:
    Texas
    #10
    is T-Mobile's eventual LTE band going to the same as AT&T or would you need an international GSM iPhone 5 to get on T-Mobile LTE when it arrives?
     
  11. milan03 macrumors 6502

    milan03

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    New York City
    #11
    It's on AT&T model only. LTE Band 4.
     
  12. The New iPad macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    #12
    Whoa, since when did T-Mobile's 1900mHz band start working? I've always known it to be Edge only for iPhone.
     
  13. soya macrumors 6502

    soya

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #13
    Ok so I've just bought a full price iPhone 5 on Ebay. So you are telling me that I won't have to buy a remote unlock ? :D That would be great ! I would like to use it with T-Mobile.
     
  14. aziatiklover macrumors 68030

    aziatiklover

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
    #14
    Wow so the price did drop for att full price! I paid $699.99 last year and still have the receipt. However, how come it is $699.99 full price for sprint, and verizon?
     
  15. eastercat macrumors 68040

    eastercat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #15
    No, the only way to really tell is if you use a non-standard sim.
     
  16. apierrec macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    #16
    I could be wrong but what am finding out, $649 @ Apple only.
     
  17. aziatiklover macrumors 68030

    aziatiklover

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
    #17
    Yea i saw that and quite surprise lol. So that mean wi tax I would have to pay $703.62 instead of $750 something from last year. It is even cheaper than the HK version at $720. :D
     

Share This Page