iPhone 5 from Japan to US

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Chuchichan, Sep 22, 2012.

  1. Chuchichan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Location:
    Maryland
    #1
    If I purchase an iPhone 5 in Japan and use it for a while and decide to move to the US, can I easily activate it there or would it be advised to purchase the iPhone in the US?

    Thanks.
     
  2. i-John macrumors 6502a

    i-John

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    The Republic of Texas
    #2
    Buy it in the US if you intend to use it on LTE. iPhones bought outside of US or Canada won't work on LTE within the US or Canada.
     
  3. Chuchichan thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Location:
    Maryland
    #3

    I thought that carriers now offer LTE in Japan. Also, do you mean that different iphones are being made for regions around the world?
     
  4. illutionz macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #4
    http://www.apple.com/iphone/LTE/

    Japan is using Band 1 LTE

    US is using the following:
    - AT&T - Band 4 and 17
    - Verizon - Band 13
    - Sprint - Band 25

    If you purchase your iPhone 5 from KDDI in Japan, you have to get the LTE Simcard from Verizon and use it with them.

    If you get your iPhone 5 from Softbank in Japan, you can use 3G in the US with AT&T or Tmobile but no LTE at all. Softbank iPhone 5 can't be used with Verizon/Sprint in the US.

    Either way, my point is that you can either use Verizon with LTE but you can't use AT&T LTE with any of Japanese purchased iPhone 5.

    PS: If you are interested in finding more details about these "LTE Bands" here's a good list:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/E-UTRA#Frequency_bands_and_channel_bandwidths
     
  5. i-John macrumors 6502a

    i-John

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    The Republic of Texas
    #5
    Yes, though if you get the Japan model, it should work on LTE for Verizon or Sprint, but not AT&T.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. illutionz macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #6
    it has to be the KDDI Japan model, though. The Softbank won't have any LTE capabilities in the US since they only supports band 1,3, and 5 for LTE
     
  7. Chuchichan thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Location:
    Maryland
  8. jayajaya macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #8
    I believe Japanese carriers do not unlock their iPhone. You could use Softbank / AU SIM card overseas, but it would be expensive especially if you used it for a long period of time.
     
  9. slayerz96 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Location:
    Singapore
    #9
    The KDDI model works with Verizon and Sprint in the US.

    SoftBank model only with some Asian carriers + DT + EE.

    I'm quite sure Japanese phones are locked. You might need to find out more.
     
  10. marc11 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Location:
    NY USA
    #10
    Softbank phones are locked and they will not unlock no matter what.
     
  11. haruhiko macrumors 68040

    haruhiko

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009

Share This Page