iPhone 5 "-Gates": Separating the Real from the BS

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by KieranDotW, Oct 12, 2012.

1. KieranDotW macrumors 6502a

Hi, so my Dad's been thinking of picking up a iP5 but he's having second thoughts seeing all these supposed problems going around on the news -- scuff-gate, purple haze-gate, now bend-gate (I'm assuming you all know what I'm talking about). Sooo, because I have little to no experience with the iP5 in person and just gokng by word-of-mouth, I'm a little worried too. Would anyone care to tell me which of these "horror stories" I've been seeing are actually worth worrying about? Thanks!

2. brand macrumors 601

brand

Technically they are all worth worrying about however unlikely they are to be.

3. Dstopsie macrumors 6502a

Once you just get the phone and enjoy it and if you don't like can't return it within the time allowed. Apple has sold over 5 million iPhones and you're only seeing a fraction of people complaining here on this forum. The iPhone is still light years ahead of any other phone or device out there so my feeling is just get it you enjoy it and you take it from there

4. sracer macrumors 603

sracer

If possible, I'd recommend waiting 2-3 months for the bugs to shake out. In the past there have been issues with iPhones and Apple fans dismissed those reports as isolated incidents, only to have Apple finally and formally acknowledge that the problem existed. But some reported problems were not legitimate. Only the passage of time helps to determine which is which.

5. darster Suspended

Or you can get an iphone like I did. Flawless-gate.

6. B's iPhone macrumors member

B's iPhone

"Gate" is an overblown internet term. People need to give up the bs.
    If for some reason someone gets a phone with issues there's no better
    customer service than what you'll get from Apple. I own Samsung tv's, (have for years)
    windows computers (built and bought) and apple iphones. No brand loyalty here, just speaking from