iPhone 5 stuck in edge

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by kmichalec, Mar 5, 2013.

  1. kmichalec macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    #1
    At my office, there a conference room on the lower level that it's near impossible to get a signal in. Whenever I use that room, my iP5 struggles to get any type of signal, and usually winds up clinging to 1 bar of Edge. However, after I leave that room, and come back to my desk where I normally get 3-4 bars of LTE, I always notice the phone is still stuck on the EDGE network, no matter how long I leave it for.

    If I turn off/on the Cellular Data toggle, it doesn't fix it. It just grabs Edge again. In order to fix it, I need to either turn the Enable LTE toggle off/on, or turn airplane mode on/off or reboot the phone.

    Overall, not a major issue, but just a bit of an annoyance, as I have at least 4-5 meetings in that room a week, and have to "reset" after each one.

    Does anyone else run into this on the iP5?
     
  2. Derek87 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    #2
    i have on occasions recently and would love to hear the fix!

     
  3. chilibball macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    #3
    Is there a carrier settings update available for your iPhone?

    Or... Switch to Verizon! :D

    Kevin
     
  4. vsuri macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #4
    I have a similar issue with Verizon. Goes to GPRS (circle icon in place of LTE) and gets stuck with that.
     
  5. sofakng macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    #5
    I have this EXACT same problem and have had it the entire time with my iPhone 5. (AT&T, 64GB)

    What I need to do is toggle airplane mode on/off (or reboot/respring) to get it back to LTE/4G.

    I've tried numerous times to restore, etc. Very, very annoying.
     
  6. apollo1444 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Location:
    mexico
    #6
    I don't think Verizon has GPRS, I sometimes suffer from this but the iPhone would just preffer 3G over 3/4 bars of LTE, not really an issue since I have NCsettings (jailbreak) with an LTE toggle.
     
  7. smokescreen220 macrumors regular

    smokescreen220

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Location:
    California Native
    #7
    Try resetting the network settings: Settings>General>Reset>...Reset Network Settings.....
     
  8. nvansi01 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    #8
    I have the same problem. My fix has also been to toggle airplane on/off but very annoying. I have been hoping and expecting this problem to be resolved with every OS update but hasn't happened yet. :mad:
     
  9. lordofthereef macrumors G4

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #9
    This has been happening to my wife's phone on Verizon. :mad:
     
  10. wxman2003 Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    #10
    OP, does the room have a lot of electronics? I have the same problem at work in a certain part of the operations area. If I am sitting at a certain workstation with lots of computers, I lose LTE every time. I toggle airplane on and off and it goes back to LTE. Does not happen at any other workstation, just that one. Like clockwork.
     
  11. BrandonZ macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    #11
    I was having this same problem. Someone suggested I get a new SIM card from AT&T and it seems to fix the problem. Maybe try that.
     
  12. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #12
    Yeah, the circle on GSM (AT&T) is GPRS and on CDMA (Verizon/Sprint) it is 1xRTT. Regardless, they're both similar in the sense that they are pretty poor services compared to LTE.
     
  13. akdj macrumors 65816

    akdj

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    Alaska
    #13
    To the OP--is this issue only in this specific room? You've written your post as this is the only time you're seeing this problem

    If that's the case, it's because of the room itself. As mentioned earlier...if there is RF interference in the room, this could be the cause. Is the room underground? Is there any type of security shielding in the walls? Do you work for a company that values it's privacy and secrecy? In extreme cases, companies can also jam cellular signals in specific locations....the conference room being one that a lot of conversation takes place about the company's inner workings, future plans and/or ideas.

    There can be a lot of different 'things' that interfere with cell signal quality and strength. You may talk with your IT folks...test other phones from fellow employees (perhaps on different carriers) to isolate the problem. If its only in this room...I think you're fine.

    J
     
  14. kmichalec thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    #14
    Thanks for the responses from everyone! Sorry I didn't reply sooner. I realize that i wrote it suggesting the room may be the culprit, but that's not the case. It just happens to be the place where I first noticed it and seems to have it happen regularly. It seems to happen when i go to the cafeteria too, which is also downstairs, and lose LTE there too. The conference room and cafeteria are at opposite ends of the building, so I don't really think it's equipment interference. I've also experienced this at a shopping mall this past weekend, where I went into a department store, and lost LTE, and was clinging to 1 bar of edge. Once I left the store, and walked out to the parking lot, it should have gone back to LTE (4 bars when walking in), but didn't.
     
  15. wx4olf macrumors regular

    wx4olf

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #15
    I have the same or similar issue as well. When I walk into our building and take the elevator up to my office my iPhone 5 kicks down to edge and never goes back to LTE without toggling airplane mode. Oddly enough reversing the path on the way home does not drop LTE. It's a minor inconvenience so I'm not too worked up about it.
     
  16. djjeesh66 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
    #16
    Same problem here. I just flip airplane mode on an off. Needs fixing. AT&T ip5 most recent software.
     
  17. consumedsoul macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #17
    I'm hopeful the next iOS update will have a fix, I haven't seen this much 'stuck on edge' issue before the last update.
     
  18. BrandonZ macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    #18
    I had this and finally gave up and went to the apple store. They replaced the phone and the new on works perfect. Maybe try that.
     

Share This Page