iphone 5 to iphone 5s -- How to update?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by GIZBUG, Oct 15, 2013.

  1. GIZBUG macrumors 65816

    GIZBUG

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #1
    Wife has a 5. Work got her a free 5S. How do I ensure all her settings and stuff on her 5, end up on her 5S when I set it up for her? Simple Icloud backup? Or backup with Itunes (5), then plug in 5S, and restore?


    Thanks
     
  2. Shockwave78 macrumors 65816

    Shockwave78

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    #2
    My thoughts are always to start as new on a new phone or new major revision of iOS...

    Save contacts to icloud, that is the most time consuming thing. Other than that i would just set it up as new.
     
  3. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
  4. GIZBUG thread starter macrumors 65816

    GIZBUG

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #4
    How do you save all your contacts / pictures / email settings to cloud?
     
  5. Nolander07 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    #5
    Back up the old phone to iCloud. Turn on the new phone, then log into her iCloud account, and restore from the most recent iCloud backup. It is very easy that way and all her texts, contacts, photos, settings, etc. will be the same. It takes maybe an hour or so for everything to load, but it will do it all automatically.
     
  6. Rigby macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #6
    I'd simply do a backup via iTunes and restore the new phone from that. Much faster than iCloud backup. Not much point in installing the new phone from scratch (especially if the old phone is already running iOS 7), and there is no easy way to get messages over to the new one without using backup/restore.
     
  7. asleep macrumors 68040

    asleep

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #7
    I use iTunes. Backup encrypted with password and it'll transfer passwords, etc. Restore from that.
     
  8. GIZBUG thread starter macrumors 65816

    GIZBUG

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #8
    Do I need to take the SIM CHIP out of her 5, and put it in her 5S then so it activates? Shes with ATT
     

Share This Page