Iphone 5c: How much worse is the camera?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by StevesJob, Oct 10, 2013.

1. StevesJob macrumors newbie

I'm currently using an iPhone 4 and wanted to upgrade to the 5s. But since it seems to be taking forever to get one, I now am thinking about getting a 5c for now and selling it next year to get an iphone 6.

I think i can live without a fingerprint sensor although it would sure be nice to have one. And I also don't really need the better processor of the iphone 5s. I actually think it probably makes sense to wait for the 6 here, since with more ram etc. it will be able to make better use of the 64bit.

But what makes me hesitate to get the 5c is the camera. I'm not a professional photographer but i do use the iphone camera quite a lot since i don't have any other camera. With my iPhone 4 I made about 3,000 photos altogether. So my question is: How big is the difference between the 5c camera and the 5s camera? Is it really noticable for non-professionals? Is it true that the 5s makes much better pictures in low light?

I can get the 5c 16gb (2 days used) for 500 Euros right now and hopefully resell it for 400 Euros in a year (don't know if that is realistic or not) or wait for the 5s 32gb for another 3 weeks and get it for 770 Euros. What would you do?

2. mcrto macrumors member

I don't think you'll notice at all. Just my opinion. I'm sure somebody could manage to get a better shot on the 5c than the 5s. Put it that way.

3. Altis macrumors 68020

If you know someone with a 5, try out theirs and see if you think it'll do.

It's really difficult to tell online because there's so many ways to edit photos.

4. boobie12 macrumors 6502

I think the biggest difference is in low light situations.

5. JGWolven macrumors regular