Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Samtb

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jan 6, 2013
Why is it that my old 4mp canon digital camera still seems to take better photos even compared to the 8mp camera on iPhone 5 or iPhone 6.

ZEEN0j

macrumors 68000
Sep 29, 2014
Probably a bigger and better lens and it's not about the megapixels.

yjchua95

macrumors 604
Apr 23, 2011
GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
So phone cameras will never be as good as stand alones?

Depends on what standalone, but definitely not a DSLR.

However, photography is all about composition. What makes a good or bad picture all depends on the guy behind the viewfinder or holding the camera.

I'm a freelance photographer and some of my best work were shot on my iPhone and not on my 5D Mk3.

Samtb

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jan 6, 2013
Depends on what standalone, but definitely not a DSLR.

However, photography is all about composition. What makes a good or bad picture all depends on the guy behind the viewfinder or holding the camera.

I'm a freelance photographer and some of my best work were shot on my iPhone and not on my 5D Mk3.

I don't know much about photography but I do like taking artistic photos and I just find my canon camera comes out with better quality pictures than the iPhone. Its one of the first Powershot elphs. I thought the iPhone camera would be far more advanced than a 10 year old digital camera.

I7guy

macrumors Nehalem
Nov 30, 2013
Gotta be in it to win it
This is statement is very true. The Iphone may not be the best camera, but you always have it with you and it's a pretty good one.:)

While that statement is eminently true and certainly thrown around the internet I've missed a lot of "keepers" with my iphone. Snaps that my Canon DSLR with some good L glass would have captured without sweating.