Iphone keeps knocking out my Home Network !

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by paulwilko10, May 1, 2012.

  1. paulwilko10 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    #1
    Hiya

    I have a weird problem

    There are 2 iPhone 3GS's in the house both on latest FW 5.1. Both use wireless all the time.

    I have a Linksys WRT54G Router with Tomato FW

    At no set time, one of our iPhones can knock out the network, literally, nothing can connect to the router wirelessly or wired.
    This can happen when the phone enters the wireless area, if it restarts, or at anytime. Its very hard to replicate reliably, but happens fairly often

    In all the time I was in Egypt, my phone never restarted itself but as soon as I got home, it did, which suggests there is some weird thing going on between phone and router.

    Turn the wireless off on the phones and all is fine

    Has anyone got any ideas what could be causing this please

    Paul
     
  2. Norinion macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #2
    I have a similar problem however, my phone tends to wifi-hog, and keeps knocking itself out of the wifi.
     
  3. paulwilko10 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    #3
    Which is maybe what is happening to me, but we are describing it differently

    Any thoughts on how to deal with it ?
     
  4. eawmp1 macrumors 601

    eawmp1

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    FL
  5. paulwilko10 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    #5
    I was quite excited when I started reading that up until the point it said use Static IP :)
    Was the first thing I tried unfortunately. Only minor difference is that my IP is above the DHCP range and not below, can't believe that would solve it, but maybe worth a go

    Purge NVRAM on the router ???

    Thanks for your reply though

    Paul
     
  6. eawmp1 macrumors 601

    eawmp1

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    FL
    #6
    Sorry, meant hard reset (the paperclip trick) and reinstall latest Tomato.
     
  7. Norinion macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #7
  8. paulwilko10 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    #8
    Thanks but that is how I got tomato in the first place ;-)
    I got tomato for this reason

    I have just tried something slightly different, I have assigned an IP using the mac adds on the router instead of setting it on the Iphone, will see if that helps

    Thx for your help

    Paul
     
  9. paulwilko10 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    #9
    A little update for anyone interested

    I have always set my static IP adds up on he device, however, something came to me the other day, set the static IP adds by MAC address direct on router and set phone to DHCP.

    I have done this on both mine and my wifes 3GS and so far, 3 or so days later, no lock ups or anything.

    This is not concrete proof as it can happen anytime, but its a gd start

    Paul
     

Share This Page