iPhone --> Note iii Questions

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Kram1975, Aug 30, 2013.

1. Kram1975 macrumors member

I have a few questions that I'm not tech savvy enough to answer and was hoping some others might know, to help me make a final decision on whether to move to Note iii over iPhone 5S.

1: Can you send or receive group messaging?

2: Can I still use iTunes? All of my 700 gigs of music are formatted on an external mac compatible drive. I am not sure if there are any challenges from switching phones and mp3 formatting.

3: Is there any way to Airplay to my apple tv from a Note iii?

I fully realize some of these questions may seem dumb but I just don't know the answers. Thanks in advance if you can help me out.

2. boshii macrumors 68040

boshii

1. You can but it doesn't work as well as iMessage.

2. There are programs that let you manage your music on your phone with iTunes. A quick google search can help you with this.

3. No.

You're better off putting this on an Android forum.

3. Mxbzz macrumors 6502

Yes to all three. However, I can't validate the quality/consistency of the applications used for #2/3. I would post this in the Alternatives to iOS subforum as you'd likely find more users in your situation.

4. CEmajr macrumors 601

Group messaging is far inferior on Android even with the third party apps that allow it. It was one of the things that annoyed me about it.

5. Looon macrumors 6502a

Looon

How so? My work has multiple group messages that I'm part of and a few of the people do not have iPhones so they are all sent as texts. Seems to work fine for us.

6. boshii macrumors 68040

boshii

With my S4, when sending group messages to iPhones, the replies would all come in as separate texts.

With the iPhone, replies to group messages all come in in one thread no matter what.

7. Looon macrumors 6502a

Looon