iPhone officially switches from O2 UK to Orange UK after restore!!!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by maka344, Nov 4, 2009.

  1. maka344 macrumors 65816

    maka344

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    I can’t believe what has just happened!

    I am now factory locked on another carrier!

    My girlfriends 3G has been locked to O2 from out of the box since new but JB and unlocked by Dev team software, was on 3.0. I updated to 3.1.2 via iTunes.

    When the phone switched back on it activated in iTunes and downloaded a carrier update, as Orange UK are about to start selling iPhones from next week I believe my girlfriends iPhone is now factory locked to Orange UK as I got full reception and haven’t even ran BlackRa1n or sn0w as of yet! Just tried an O2 sim and now states invalid sim inserted!

    Now I’m only going to jailbreak and not apply the unlock. My theory is Apple are going to ship O2 devices and simply change the lock status within iTunes on first activation!

    Anyway I can prove this?

    I will try my 3GS as i'm on 3.1 JB and soft unlocked also on Orange UK pay monthly. Can anyone else try this?

    UPDATE!

    Just did the same on my 3GS and it is now factory locked to Orange rather than O2!

    I restored the 3G to 3.2.1 as I had Blackra1n downloaded and ready to use. After the iTunes restore the phone displays "Connect to iTunes" I connect it and it then says "Activated" and Orange UK was showing, this is without using Blackra1n.

    This happened on both phones. I've only JB'ed not unlocked and both are fully working on 3.2.1 officially on Orange UK with full servies. My options have gone for editing the "Cellular data settings".

    Both phones are fully working without having applied a software unlock.

    Means apple are selling the phones locked and activate depending on what sim card you use.

    Please try this and let me know!
     
  2. FXT 1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Just inserted an Orange Pay and Go sim into my O2 locked iPhone. itunes offered me a carrier update, i denied, but iphone is receiving Orange signal!!!!! :eek:

    UPDATE: Orange have sent me 3 text messages about settings, hope this doesnt screw up my O2 settings lol.

    EDIT: My phone has never been jailbroken by the way and is still locked to O2, have just tried some other SIM cards and none work. Orange SIM receives bad signal where I live though. :(
     
  3. kAoTiX macrumors 6502

    kAoTiX

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #3
    Are you saying it locked to Orange after a restore? If so does it alter the lock status after a restore depending on what sim card is inserted? O2/Orange.

    I wouldn't want to 'test' it and find that I get locked to Orange cos I much prefer O2 plus Orange signal is crap in my area.
     
  4. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #4
    this is strange cause I did a dfu restore on my iPhone last night and with my Orange SIM in it just told me to insert a valid sim.....and had to stick O2 sim in
     
  5. jonnyb macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    Rye/London, UK
    #5
    So let me get this straight - you can currently use either an Orange PAYG or your O2 sim in your phone and both work?

    Could you describe the exact steps in the right order that you took that made this happen?
     
  6. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #6
    there was a carrier update yesterday, after I rebooted my phone the network data details had updated to show a size limit under mms and internet tethering had been enabled in the settings menu with a popup asking me to setup tethering with Orange UK

    EDIT: was looking to remove my 3.1.2 ipsw file to start a fresh and looked in:
    %app data%\Apple Computer\iTunes\iPhone Carrier Support
    and found
    Orange_uk.ipcc
     
  7. FXT 1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Yes. And it didn't mess up my O2 Settings as well. Also, I don't believe the phone locks to either Orange or O2. I think it's lockable to either carrier.

    All I did was remove my O2 Pay Monthly SIM and insert an Orange Pay and Go SIM into my iPhone, which is locked to O2 and not jailbroken, and synced with itunes. iTunes then offered a carrier update, to which I at first denied, in fear of it messing up my settings, but later accepted.
     
  8. FXT 1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Haven't tried it this morning, but it worked last night for me.

    Partially true. I believe the phone is lockable to either carrier. I tested some other UK SIM cards (3,Voda,T-Mobile) and they didn't work.
     
  9. jonnyb macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    Rye/London, UK
    #9
    Ah. So I can't simply swap one sim out for the other once I've 'activated' it as an Orange phone. It has to be resynced each time to swap it back and forth?
     
  10. FXT 1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    I'll try it again and see, my O2 SIM is currently in the phone at the moment and iTunes is performing a full restore (unrelated issue, just swapped my phone at the genius bar) so I'll try in a bit. Don't want to mess up the full restore.
     
  11. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #11
    well I just did a completely fresh dfu restore and itunes said nope sim not supported, I wonder if it was because it was activated as an O2 phone first so theres no prior activation with the Orange sim

    oh nice I tried to use blackra1n to hacktivate it...... stuck at slide for emergency lol
     
  12. Badfoot macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #12
    So once changed to Orange, you can't go back to O2 ?
     
  13. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #13
    Blackra1n doesn't hacktivate.
     
  14. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #14
    oh right I read it was blackra1n that hacktivated
     
  15. maka344 thread starter macrumors 65816

    maka344

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #15
    The phone will only accept O2 or Orange UK sim cards only after a fresh restore before any activation.

    So what I did on both phones:

    1: Full back up
    2: Restore to 3.1.2
    3: Connect to iTunes
    4: Orange Sim in phone then iPhone downloads carrier settings and displays "Activated"
    5: Tried this with O2 and it activated to O2

    Only one network lock at a time after a clean restore.
     
  16. kAoTiX macrumors 6502

    kAoTiX

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #16
    That's pretty damn good if you ask me. At least its a free unlock to an additional network.
    I think this is why o2 wouldn't say they could unlock peoples phones. Basically becuase they can't, it does it itself!

    Thanks for the clarification.
     
  17. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #17
    I did these exact steps iTunes keeps saying needs official sim, I never got the carrier download though

    wonder if it's to do with having iTunes 8.2 in work? (I have a xp pc runs like a snail if asked to do too much lol)
     
  18. RandomKamikaze macrumors 6502a

    RandomKamikaze

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #18
    As of RC3 it does

    This interesting, because when I did that as well, it asked me to setup tethering with Vodafone UK. I am a Vodafone UK user, I didn't get a carrier update tho. I'm not going to try this yet, as Vodafone don't start selling it till 2010, while Orange start next week. Would be good to hear if anyone else on Orange UK has this experience.

    OP, are you sure you didn't run BlackRa1n with your Orange UK SIM in the phone?
     
  19. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #19
    Ah... guess I was out of the loop on that one. Thanks for the correction.
     
  20. dayloon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Location:
    Stafford, UK
    #20
    Trying this now...

    UPDATE :

    Fresh restore on my 3gs, inserted orange sim and it says "The SIM card inserted in this iphone does not appear to be supported" :(
     
  21. Neo-Tech macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #21
    I've been trying for the past hour or so and I have no luck :(

    Maybe somebody can upload the Orange IPCC file they got, it might help.

    EDIT: Yeah! Got the update, finally. I had to install ultrasn0w for iTunes to pick up my Orange SIM Card. Checking now if it'll work without ultrasn0w, will upload IPCC file for all :D

    EDIT2: I tried without ultrasn0w and it didn't work. Me thinks the OP restored his iPhone when Apple/Orange were testing that any UK iPhone would work, regardless of which carrier it was sold by. As for the IPCC file, here you are.
     
  22. FXT 1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #22
    Have just tried again. Genius activated my iPhone hours ago at the store on O2. Have just ejected my O2 SIM and inserted the Orange one. Had to sync that time to Itunes. But just swapped the SIMs again and I am receiving O2 signal with no re-sync required. Wouldn't trust this method for use forever though. But yes I can switch between the two without a re-sync it would seem overall.

    BTW everybody, my iPhone is not jailbroken or hacktivated, and is locked to O2 officially.
     
  23. Neo-Tech macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #23
    I think a clean restore does something to make it work with Orange :/
    Or it already works with Orange but when you sync with iTunes, it connects to the iTunes server and lets the SIM work or not? Meh, we'll find out in a few days time, just be patient.
     
  24. maka344 thread starter macrumors 65816

    maka344

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #24
    Just for clarification. I did not use Ultrasn0w or Blackra1n prior to the fresh restore. Other people on other forums are reporting the exact same result as me.

    You have to have your Orange UK sim card inserted in the phone at the point of restore and at the point activation.

    Simply do a clean restore, from iTunes leaving the Orange UK sim card inserted. My girlfriends 3G did the exact same and my 3GS both are pay monthly customers and both now using officially locked Orange UK iPhones which where purchased on O2.

    I have not tried an O2 sim card. I will do that later and post back.

    I can get any file from ssh you require, please let me know
     
  25. jonnyb macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    Rye/London, UK
    #25
    Being able to switch back to O2 is crucial for me (and I suspect many people). Please let me know what happens when you put the O2 sim back in

    thanks
     

Share This Page