iPhone reception: 3GS vs. 5 in AT&T? Esp. Bay Area experiences welcome

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by mike1mike2mike3, Oct 9, 2012.

1. mike1mike2mike3 macrumors newbie

Will I notice a difference in voice reception, coverage and reliability with an AT&T iPhone 5 compared to my current AT&T 3GS?

I'm facing a choice perhaps others are too: I have been using AT&T (unhappily) for a few years with my 3GS. I absolutely detest the voice service - crappy quality, dropped calls, long connection times, etc etc.

However, I do like to multi-task (esp talking while driving and have maps work for directions!), and I'm grandfathered in to the unlimited data plan.

If voice service will be the same as it is for me now, however, I'm bailing to Verizon (no land line and sick of AT&T voice).

Would love to hear your experiences - will the 5 improve my service?

I live in Berkeley, so Bay Area performance is important.

Thanks!

2. jlake02 macrumors 68020

jlake02

The voice quality (audio) is better with the i5 but if your signal is crappy you won't see much improvement.

3. Skyjacker07 macrumors newbie

I'm not anywhere near your area, but in OK where I live my call quality is greatly improved from my 4s to a 5, I would loose service in my house on the 4s, but now I have full bars.

4. mike1mike2mike3 thread starter macrumors newbie

thanks. Sounds like there is some promise, but I might need to just try it?

Other experiences? Really wary of AT&T but it does make sense on other levesl to stay with them...

5. akonikui macrumors regular

I've noticed much better service with the iPhone 5 in the bay area. The LTE is awesome. I'm on the peninsula now.

That said, ATT is horrible in Berkeley. Used to live there and reception was always spotty and data was slow. Verizon is much better in the East Bay.

6. mike1mike2mike3 thread starter macrumors newbie