iPhone unlock question

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Dtp8513, Oct 11, 2012.

1. Dtp8513 macrumors regular

I had unlocked my iPhone 5 through a third party on eBay and I got a message saying congrats, your phone is unlocked. I had to replace that device and the second time I did it, it didn't show the message. Is there a way to check (besides buying a new SIM card from a different carrier (I have att)

2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

Applejuiced

The only sure way would be to get a sim from Tmobile and stick it in.
    Sometimes you dont get the message at all but the iphone is unlocked and will work with any sim.

3. EnJaNir macrumors member

Many users have stated that their replacement phones have also been unlocked. I have no personal experience but I think it is dependent on how the transaction is handled at the apple store. Reason why I say this is because they can process it has a replacement or they can process it as a return and repurchase.

4. PLin macrumors 6502

In my experience, replacement unlocked iPhones and even those ordered factory unlocked sometime won't show the message. The message is intended for iPhones that were shipped from the factory locked and then unlocked at some point due to the circumstances of the sale (full price purchase) or a carrier-authorized unlock.

Last year, I bought an AT&T 4S at full price and got the message. When I exchanged it at the Genius Bar a few months later, the replacement was still unlocked but never showed the message. In the About screen, the model number was even different, because they gave me a factory unlocked replacement instead of an unlocked AT&T model.

5. Mliii macrumors 65816

Mliii

As has been said by others here and on similar threads throughout MR, the best way to be sure is to get a Sim from a different provider.
    ESPECIALLY if you plan to go overseas with your phone.