iPhone - Yellowsn0w unlock - Do I need to take my SIM out everytime I reboot?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by tonynz, Jan 2, 2009.

  1. tonynz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    #1
    It seems I have a very different experience re unlocking my iPhone, different yet successful

    What I have found:

    1: Airplane Mode on and off again gives me SIM ERRORS
    2: Everytime I reboot (even with the new SIM in the phone) - I get a locked phone with no bars , I just need to eject the SIM and reinsert the SIM again straight away, the phone will then register the SIM onto the network with full functions

    I have to do this EVERYTIME I reboot - anyone else experiencing the same?

    Thanks iPhone Dev Team!
     
  2. fabian9 macrumors 65816

    fabian9

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #2
    yeah as far as i know you'll have to do this every time for it to work. but on the iphone dev team blog it says that they're working on a solution for this as they recognize it can be quite annoying. so i hope they'll implement it with the next update...

    on a different note, how come you have to reboot your phone a lot? i don't ever have the need to reboot mine? :S
     
  3. Ninja Dom macrumors 6502

    Ninja Dom

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    #3
    yellowsn0w 0.9.4 is now available.

    Try that and tell us if it fixes anything.
     
  4. Tokiopop macrumors 68000

    Tokiopop

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    #4
    Hmm... I was about to get it, I may wait a while until they patch it up. :D
     
  5. tonynz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    #5
    The latest yellowsn0w - 0.9.4 Beta

    Just upgraded to The latest yellowsn0w - 0.9.4 Beta

    Now works differently on my phone (UK O2 16gb 3G) with a Vodafone Prepaid latest SIM card

    Firstly, Airplane mode On and Off again still gives me an invalid SIM error

    However, sometimes when I turn on the phone, it is able to search for a network straight away, other times it gives me the four small dots like the previous versions of yellowsn0w

    I have restarted my phone 8 times now and 6 times it has been able to search for a network and log onto the network straight away

    It seems that 0.9.4 works a lot better and I longer need to take out my SIM in order for it to work

    If any Dev Team would like me to test anything - feel free to msg me
     

Share This Page