Iphone5 won’t turn on.

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by C@tch, Jun 3, 2018.

  1. C@tch macrumors newbie

    C@tch

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    #1
    i have charged it, tested battery 3.4volts, made sure all 3 ribbons are plugged in, did a reastart power/home buttons. Still won’t start.
    Can anyone give me some help I don’t really want to buy another phone or have it fixed.
     
  2. Minho macrumors regular

    Minho

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #2
    If you're battery is measuring 3.4V after charging, then the battery is likely too weak to boot the phone.
     
  3. C@tch thread starter macrumors newbie

    C@tch

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    #3
    I thought the battery was supposed to be around 3.5V 1/10 of a volt shouldn’t make it bad would it.
     
  4. Minho macrumors regular

    Minho

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #4
    The nominal voltage of the battery is ~3.8V (it should be printed on the battery) but a fully charged battery is ~4.2V. A battery in poor health will drop the voltage considerably once the current demand raises and that could drop the voltage enough to impede the phone from booting (or staying on). If this is still the original battery (on a device that was last sold nearly 5 years ago), then it's almost certainly a defective battery.
     
  5. C@tch thread starter macrumors newbie

    C@tch

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    #5
    You are right, I had it diagnosed and it needs battery and front face.
    I have another 5 but with less memory, could I swap the battery and complete front face into my phone.
     
  6. Minho macrumors regular

    Minho

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #6
    Sure, you can change them. By the "front face", do you mean the screen assembly?
     
  7. C@tch thread starter macrumors newbie

    C@tch

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    #7
    Yes the screen assembly, is it just a matter of unplugging from one and plug into the other.
    Someone told me I might have to change some of the other parts, like home button. Not sure why, basically same phone, one just has more memory.
     
  8. Minho macrumors regular

    Minho

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #8
    Not on the 5, nothing is code-locked to the logic board. If the donor screen already has a home button and front camera flex, just use it directly. If the donor has damaged HB/FCAM, then transfer over from the the damaged screen. On the 5S and above, the TouchID only works with the original home button.
     
  9. C@tch thread starter macrumors newbie

    C@tch

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    #9
    Thank you so much for the info.
     

Share This Page