iRig & GarageBand - TONS of noise with distorted amps

Discussion in 'iPad' started by bunger, May 13, 2011.

  1. bunger macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    #1
    I had read some posts that said the iRig produced a bit of noise, but holy smokes! When I selected any of the "Distortion" amps through GB, it just howls! I have to really crank up the Noisegate to quiet it down.

    Is this pretty common and why?
     
  2. poloponies Suspended

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #2
    The iRig is an analog solution that's susceptible to line noise. Something like the Apogee Jam is a better alternative for recording. It's a digital solution through the dock connector:

    http://www.apogeedigital.com/products/jam.php
     
  3. Beardy man macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    #3
    zombie thread!

    I have iRig/Garageband on an iPad 2 and it works well enough for my needs.

    I've recently got an iPad3 but the noise levels are way over what I get with the iPad2.

    I think it's a Garageband problem because when I use the Amplitude software I get no appreciable noise at all.

    Anyone else finding this? Perhaps I should try re-installing Garageband on the iPad3?
     
  4. Macman45 macrumors G5

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #4
    Amplitude knocks spots off Gargeband. Far better support too. Been using it a while now, and in the studio. A great tool.
     
  5. Beardy man macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    #5
    I'll agree with that but I haven't played with the Amplitude software at all apart from comparing the sound quality to Garageband.

    It's so easy to create or import backing tracks into Garageband - I haven't looked to see if it's as easy (or even possible ) in the Amplitude stuff.
     

Share This Page