Is 8 GB of RAM a requirement for Yosemite?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by dba415, Oct 25, 2014.

  1. dba415 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    #1
    For a good experience. I am currently running Yosemite on my 4gb 2010 MBP. I only have Safari and Mail open and I am getting < 1GB of RAM available.
     
  2. saudor macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    #2
    It's fine. Yosemite has a more aggressive caching thing that eats up free ram. My 8gb 2010 is mostly at 7.99 used. I think the same happens even at 16 or 24 gb ram. Just make sure memory pressure is in the green
     
  3. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #3
    You can also open Activity Monitor to see how much RAM the running Apps are using.
     
  4. milomak macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    #4
    my mbp (5,3 i think) has 4GB iirc. handles what it has to do.
     
  5. ABC5S macrumors 68040

    ABC5S

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Location:
    Florida
    #5
    OP, this question or concern has been mentioned/raised a zillion times now on this forum, but this is now normal. Look at the Pressure Gauge instead. Is it "GREEN" ? That means you are OK. Its now a new method by Apple to tell if your memory usage is OK. More memory being used is OK.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. vanc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    #6
    My Mac-mini used to have only 4G memory, running Yosemite DP and it was sluggish. I upgraded to 8G and it became much more responsive, even with the same spinning disk. Even though 8G is not required, it's definitely better.
     
  7. cjmillsnun macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #7
    Yet Apple still sell Macs with 4GB.

    I bet had you replaced the HD with an SSD and left the RAM at 4GB you would've noticed a bigger speed difference.
     

Share This Page