Is a Retina Macbook Pro needed for Music production or can I get by with a Non Retina

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by PreacherKane, Nov 14, 2013.

1. PreacherKane macrumors 6502

Hello everyone

Just a quick question about Macbook Pros.

I own an broken 2008 MBP and I need an upgrade. I think its the motherboard as it wont even start. My broken MBP can be fixed but it would cost to much to run and be too slow for my needs.

I am an amatuer musician and songwriter and I would like to get back into making music as it has been a while since my laptop died and I havent had the money to get her fixed. I know have the money.

So the question I am asking is do I really need an £1900 RMBP for Music Production if I can get a CMBP for £1100?

How many of you guys make music on a CMBP? And how does it run?

I know that I want at least a 500 GB internal harddrive, whether its SSD or not.

I would really like the internal superdrive and the user replaceable RAM but I am concerned with getting a machine that is already a year old before I even open the box.

Will this, in your experience, be a problem when it comes to making Music?

I don't play games on a mac but would to do some simple movie editing along with the Music Production. When I say Music Production I mean full Logic - Pro, Soundtrack, the whole kit and kaboole. Mainly Music production and songwriting but maybe some scoring and film production as well.

So guys, let me know what you think and what your experiences have been?

Thanks

Kane

2. RITmusic2k macrumors member

RITmusic2k

Depending on how mobile you want your operation to be, you could consider the following:

I run Logic Pro in my home studio on a 2008 13" unibody 2.4GHz MacBook... a computer with more than enough horsepower to run the application without a hitch (once I upgraded to 8GB RAM), but one severely lacking in screen real estate.