Is Alphabet City (in New York City) a safe place to live?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by deannnnn, Jul 6, 2010.

1. deannnnn macrumors 68000

deannnnn

I'm a student at NYU beginning my Junior year in the fall. I've lived in the NYU dorms for the past two years, but I'm going to be getting a studio apartment to myself in the fall, so I have a question for all you New York City living Mac users!

I've noticed (online) that there are a lot of newly constructed buildings popping up with really nice looking apartments over on Avenue C, for great prices (for example). I've never really been that far east over the past few years, and while I'll be checking out the area for myself later this week, I wanted to know what it's like from some people who live or have lived there.

To me it seems worth it to have a nicer place that's a little further away, but will I be safe walking home in Alphabet City late at night?

I lived on 14th & 4th my Freshman year, and 23rd & 3rd this past year. I absolutely loved the 23rd street area, Madison Square Park, Shake Shack, etc., and I'm obviously going to be taking a step down from all that.

Any advice? Thanks for your help.

2. rdowns macrumors Penryn

rdowns

Completely gentrified neighborhood. Was a war zone in the 70s and 80s. I went bar hopping down there a few months ago. The only down side is being so far east. It's a long walk to the subway.

3. steviem macrumors 68020

steviem

My fiancée's cousin lives between C and D. It's a nice neighbourhood, feels safer than most urban neighbourhoods in London (which is where I know). However, most of the parts in Manhattan and Brooklyn I've been to seem really gentrified to begin with.

4. anjinha macrumors 604

anjinha

I just learned a new word. :)

5. leekohler macrumors G5

leekohler

Completely. I don't know why anyone would be worried living over there. There's a Whole Foods on Houston for god's sake. That made my skin crawl. :)

6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus