Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

deannnnn

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Jun 4, 2007
New York City & South Florida
I'm a student at NYU beginning my Junior year in the fall. I've lived in the NYU dorms for the past two years, but I'm going to be getting a studio apartment to myself in the fall, so I have a question for all you New York City living Mac users!

I've noticed (online) that there are a lot of newly constructed buildings popping up with really nice looking apartments over on Avenue C, for great prices (for example). I've never really been that far east over the past few years, and while I'll be checking out the area for myself later this week, I wanted to know what it's like from some people who live or have lived there.

To me it seems worth it to have a nicer place that's a little further away, but will I be safe walking home in Alphabet City late at night?

I lived on 14th & 4th my Freshman year, and 23rd & 3rd this past year. I absolutely loved the 23rd street area, Madison Square Park, Shake Shack, etc., and I'm obviously going to be taking a step down from all that.

Any advice? Thanks for your help.

rdowns

macrumors Penryn
Jul 11, 2003
Completely gentrified neighborhood. Was a war zone in the 70s and 80s. I went bar hopping down there a few months ago. The only down side is being so far east. It's a long walk to the subway.

steviem

macrumors 68020
May 26, 2006
New York, Baby!
My fiancée's cousin lives between C and D. It's a nice neighbourhood, feels safer than most urban neighbourhoods in London (which is where I know). However, most of the parts in Manhattan and Brooklyn I've been to seem really gentrified to begin with.

anjinha

macrumors 604
Oct 21, 2006
San Francisco, CA