Is an Apple Cinema Display 30" from UK(PAL)would work on an (NTSC)America Mac Pro 4.1

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by BrioBriss, Jan 30, 2013.

  1. BrioBriss macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    I've been answered that yes, but I REALLY want to be sure before buying, I don't want to be stick with a Display that don't works with my Mac Pro:

    Title said pretty much everything. I heard Apple Cinema Display aren't zoned, but I really want to be sure before I buy one. My only worry is if the tension difference will fit etc.



    Thanks for the help!
     
  2. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #2
    Silly question, it's not a TV, it's a monitor so it's not even relevant.
     
  3. BrioBriss thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    Well, and about the PAL vs NTSC tension difference, wouldn't it bring problems?
     
  4. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #4
    It's not a TV, it has no tuner inside so it is not a valid nor relevant question.

    So, yes it will work, a monitor will always work as long as the GPU can output the resolution/refresh rate.

    A TV, /Pal/Secam/NTSC (Tuner) works with lines, not pixels
     
  5. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
    What is a "tension difference"? As I wrote before in one of your other threads, NTSC and PAL are TV broadcasting standards, a 30" ACD is a computer display, and computer displays don't give a ****, if the content they display is from an NTSC or PAL source (DVD or "BluRay").
     
  6. BrioBriss thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    Tension Power isn't the same in America vs Europe. This is my point about if it'd works
     
  7. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #7
    If you want to see TV on the display you need a (USB)Tuner on the Mac, it will then output the signal to the display, no worries, if you buy the right Tuner it will work.

    Tension Power:confused:
     
  8. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #8
    NTSC has 29.97 frames, or 59.94 fields per second, PAL has 25 frames / 50 fields per second. Again, this does not matter on a computer display, only on a TV, though modern TVs are able to display both formats quite well.

    You do not need to worry about this.
     
  9. Giuly macrumors 68040

    Giuly

    #9
    If I understand that correctly, by "Tension Power" you mean 230V/50Hz AC in the UK and 120V/60Hz AC in the US? If so, the Cinema Display supports both.

    And, NTSC and PAL are Television transmission standards, the computer display transmission standard in a Cinema Display is DVI, which is the same allover the world.
     

Share This Page