Is Apple .Mac 5.0 (Old Version) still usable?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Nghia Nguyen, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. Nghia Nguyen macrumors member

    Nghia Nguyen

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #1
    My MobileMe account is about to expire (in 2 weeks), so I'm trying to get a renewal for it - of course, at a low price. I went through Amazon and still find this .Mac account so I was quite unsure if it will work just like MobileMe?

    $36 is sure far cheaper than $76. What do you guys think? Thanks.
     
  2. theLimit macrumors 6502a

    theLimit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Location:
    up tha holler, acrost tha crick
    #2
    I do it all the time. Just add the code to your me.com account. These deals can usually be found pretty often. I haven't paid more than $50 for it in the past several years.
     
  3. Nghia Nguyen thread starter macrumors member

    Nghia Nguyen

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #3
    So it should work just fine? Even when it's the old version of .Mac?
     
  4. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #4
    Yup.
     
  5. Doug183 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #5
    Don't tell people!!! Its getting harder and harder to find these old .Mac boxes to use with Mobile Me! ;)
     
  6. theLimit macrumors 6502a

    theLimit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Location:
    up tha holler, acrost tha crick
    #6
    They are starting to dry up. The deal the OP found for $36 is the best I've seen in a year or so. I don't mind sharing, though, as my subscription is good until 2013 at the moment.
     
  7. Kebabselector macrumors 68030

    Kebabselector

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #7
    At the cheap price I'd consider it. £60 in the uk seems excessive
     

Share This Page