Is FaceTime possible while throttled?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by xmaseve, Aug 26, 2013.

  1. xmaseve macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #1
    Does anyone know if FaceTime is possible (if so, at what quality) if your connection is currently being throttled by AT&T?
     
  2. SanjeevRana macrumors 6502a

    SanjeevRana

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    #2
    I am assuming when throttled you are brought down to 3G speeds ... if so, then it will work fine , choppy intermittently though.

    I have tested on 3G in Singapore only and its pretty poor bandwidth here for 3G , so I guess it should be good in the US
     
  3. Mrg02d macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    Yes you can still FaceTime.
    I seen throttled speeds around 0.5 to 1mbps.
    So it's still not that terrible being throttled.
    People on sprint get those kind speeds on the regura unthrottled:D
     
  5. TheProFTW macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #5
    I've made Skype calls with no problem with a 1mbps home connection, so it might work, of course I'm not considering ping and other variables
     
  6. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #6
    Those are good speeds for sprint 3G in my area. The norm here is .05-.10 Mbps.
     
  7. TommyA6 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    #7
    Like everyone said. It really depends on your (throttled) connection speed. When I spend all the mb at max speed, it's down to 64 kbps, which isn't enough to load facebook normally let alone have a video call :D .
    That's why I always buy some additional gb :)
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    LMAO:D
    That sucks man.
     
  9. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #9
    Swerd, that's why I have never had sprint when I was using a smartphone. Im Verizon and my 3G is usually around 2 Mbps. Plenty fast for me.
     

Share This Page