is it a good idea to use Time capsule 2TB if its life span is only 18 months!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ansabakhan, Mar 19, 2010.

  1. ansabakhan macrumors 65816

    ansabakhan

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    #1
    i just bought a 2TB time capsule , even on apples site it says its life span is only 18 months ! ... and after that it usually stop working and you pretty much lose every thing on it ! ...

    it is a good idea to use time capsule provided it might only last for 18 months ... whats ur take on this ?:eek:
     
  2. bcrguy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Location:
    Burlington Ontario Canada
    #2
    well no.. but then again data is not officially "backed up" untill its in at least 2 spots besides your hard drive..

    check local computer shops for 1 TB external drives (if you really need 1TB) and if your willing make an external yourself.. i made my own external from an old 30 GB laptop drive for my backpack.. and i have 1TB sitting on my desk at home which i use for time machine (partitioned time machine for the 250 GB that my laptop needs.. the rest is usable space).. i bought the TB for a hundred bucks from walmart..
     
  3. ansabakhan thread starter macrumors 65816

    ansabakhan

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    #3
    that's a great idea ! ... i already bought a 2TB time capsule .. as i would want to share music wireless to 3 different computers in my home and thats the reason i did but 2TB time capsule ..but now after reading so many complains i am sort of worried and unsure about using it
     
  4. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #4
    I bought the 1TB TC to use as my iTunes library. Now all its good for is a router because I'm not sure if it will die like the others. :mad:
     
  5. ansabakhan thread starter macrumors 65816

    ansabakhan

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    #5
    how long have u been using it for ?
     
  6. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #6
    About 19 months :D

    I went out and bought a FireWire external and put my library on that. I will eventually use the TC to back up the new external but it will take freakin ages to transfer the close to 700GB back to the TC so I need to find a time when I can keep everything running for around 24 hours with out people messing with things.
     
  7. ansabakhan thread starter macrumors 65816

    ansabakhan

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    #7

    so u are over a month from regular life spam i hope it keeps working....

    i was hoping to hear from more users who have been using it for over 18 months!
     
  8. notjustjay macrumors 603

    notjustjay

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Location:
    Canada, eh?
    #8
    Where is this "18 months" figure coming from? I thought these were supposed to be "server class" drives in the Time Capsule? :rolleyes:
     
  9. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #9
    Its a pity the same cant be said about the power units. :p Its those that are apparently dying not the drive itself.
     
  10. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #11
    thats no good when you cant access (in my case) £1000s of your stuff. If you open the drive you lose warranty/applecare. If you dont open it you lose £1000s of stuff.

    I have AppleCare BTW.
     
  11. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #12
    That's why you should backup your backups :p
     
  12. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #13
    It only lasts for 12 months. In some cases Apple offered out of warranty replacements but not always.
     
  13. ansabakhan thread starter macrumors 65816

    ansabakhan

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    #14

    i thought your time capsule is covered under ur computer imac/macbook pro ? so that means 3 years if you have extended apple care
     
  14. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #15
    It is. You cant get AppleCare on a TC itself.
     
  15. AdamA9 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    #16
    Sorry I meant the 3 year extended. Any why would you rely on one place to store £000s of stuff? Do you not have it in both your Mac and Time Capsule?
     
  16. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #17
    You can't assume everyone who buys a Time Capsule is covered in this way. The standard warranty is still only 12 months.
     
  17. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #18
    Yep, if you have AC in your Mac, your TC is also covered
     
  18. bcrguy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Location:
    Burlington Ontario Canada
    #19
    im detecting sarcasm..lol
     
  19. ansabakhan thread starter macrumors 65816

    ansabakhan

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    #20

    ok so how would they know ? lets say my TC stops working in 2 years .. i take it in the store... how would they know about my AC .. as the serial number is attached to the mac not the TC
     
  20. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #21
    You have to register the AppleCare in Apple's site so they'll know it's covered. You use the serial that came with your AppleCare
     
  21. ansabakhan thread starter macrumors 65816

    ansabakhan

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    #22

    so do i do it separately for TC or if my imac is covered .. i am covered automatically on my TC as well ?
     
  22. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #23
    You have to do it separately because Apple doesn't know you have iMac and TC. Go to this page and register it and it'll be covered
     
  23. ansabakhan thread starter macrumors 65816

    ansabakhan

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    #24
    thanks will do ! ... do u have experience with TC ?
     
  24. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #25
    Nope, couple of my friends have TC though. I have four externals but none of them is TC, three LaCies and one Philips.
     

Share This Page