is it just me or does photoshop make things harder than they need to be?

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by X1Lightning, Jan 13, 2010.

  1. X1Lightning macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #1
    Normally i work only in fireworks, I have used it for years, and can do everything i want in it. but lately i have had to start using Photoshop just seems to make things way harder to do, I mean why cant i just right click on a layer and hit copy and then past that into a new psd.
    Why cant i import an image? It lets me import video but not a single image??? and these are not the only issues, i have tons of them. Over all it just feels like photo shop is just being difficult for the sake of being difficult.
    so is it just me? :confused:
     
  2. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #2
    I used MS Paint since 1995-ish and could accomplish anything I had in mind.

    I took Photoshop courses for 2 semesters...still can't figure the damn thing out!


    Pro-apps are pro because they offer more options, but for some reason more options tends to equal greater difficulty!

    I've been using iMovie for the last year to make my videos. Never been limited by it. Last week I bought a copy of FinalCut Express...what a load of expletives!!!!! I want my freaking money back! Yeah sure, you can do 50x more with it than iMovie but it shouldn't freaking require classes!!!

    Burn, pro apps, burrrn!!

    :p
     
  3. X1Lightning thread starter macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #3
    I can handle most pro apps, i use after effects quite a bit and i love it, i was able to just take off running with that, so i would have thought if i can handle after effects and fireworks, and even flash, i should be able to use Photoshop and not feel like a moron......
     
  4. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #4
    PS is quite a beast which takes time getting used to.

    Maybe try out some tutorials or get a book or two.

    Btw, what do you mean you can't import an image?

    It's easy, either do it via clipboard (CMD+C -> CMD+V) or open it via CMD+O and then copy and paste it.

    Why shouldn't it require classes? iMovie and the like are meant for consumers, easy to use.
    PS and other "pro" applications are for users who make their money with that software (and some hobbyists).

    Or can you repair a broken car or TV or MRI or whatever other appliance? People capable of doing that also have to learn that "stuff", either by studying it at an university or being an apprentice or by taking the time and learning it by themselves in their free time.

    Why should "pro" apps be easy? To make such software easy (to be able to use it without much effort) the software has to be dumbed down, thus making it more complex to create all the functions it shall do.
     
  5. MattSepeta macrumors 65816

    MattSepeta

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Location:
    375th St. Y
    #5
    Hmm

    none of these apps mentioned "require classes".

    I have never taken any classes or had any formal training on any app, yet I would consider myself in the top 95% of Photoshop, FCP, and hopefully AE soon once I get a handle on a few of the finer points.

    They do require some digital know-how, but other than that, there is absolutely NOTHING that a google search and few minutes can't fix :eek:

    Think about it: PsCS4 Standard version costs $700. of course its going to be a pain to learn how to use! There are $700 worth of features to use!

    If its too much too handle, get PhotoImpact or something, or just devote some time to learning the program, it is certainly NOT time wasted!

    ps to help with your questions: 1. You can. Use the (m)arquee tool to select what you want from the layer, copy, then paste it into your other document.
    2. there are numerous ways to "import" images into PS. File-Place, File-Open, or you can drag and drop, or you can copy paste, etc.
     
  6. stainlessliquid macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    #6
    You import images by using "place", thats how most programs do it. Import/Export seems to mostly be reserved for major conversions.
     
  7. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #7
    Nice. Didn't know that. And another step towards 100% (minus the obvious 90) PS knowledge.

    Thanks.
     

Share This Page