is it possible right now to update to 5.0.1 while keeping the baseband from 5.0?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by maximus96, Jan 13, 2012.

  1. maximus96 macrumors 6502a

    maximus96

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    #1
    my 4S is still on 5.0. I read that I should update to 5.0.1 before 5.1 comes out and kills the corona jailbreak. Is it possible to keep the older baseband for future unlocking purposes?

    thanks
     
  2. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #2
    Impossible. How can you do that if there isn't any tool available or work on 4S. However, I heard that you can use tiny umbrella to save shsh blob for it and if that is true. You should do that now.
     
  3. maximus96 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    maximus96

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    #3
    I thought you can just create a custom Ipsw that preserves the old
    baseband during the update, no?
     
  4. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #4
    Yes, but not for the A5 devices. They have cracked these yet and therefore, there isn't any tool can do this yet.
     
  5. damant macrumors 6502

    damant

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    #5
    NO!
    but from what i've read, using OTA update would give you a "lower" baseband then using iTunes. i'm not sure if that matters much.

    basebase is unpreservabable using tinyUmbrella at this point; just ios version.
     
  6. maximus96 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    maximus96

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    #6
    bummer...just tried tiny umbrella...doesn't even detect my 4S
     
  7. b0bab0i macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    #7
    Do you have the latest version of TU? Latest version can save SHSH blobs for 4S.
     
  8. maximus96 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    maximus96

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    #8
    It should be the latest, I just downloaded it from their website
     
  9. Minhimalism macrumors 65816

    Minhimalism

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Location:
    Texas
    #9
    It doesn't make a difference. Even with SHSH saved, you cannot downgrade from 5.0.1 to 5.0.
     
  10. b0bab0i macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    #10
    Yes, but OP wants 5.0.1 Blobs so if iPhone hackers find an exploit, he will have blobs to go to 5.0.1 when apple releases 5.1 update. Reread OP's first post.
     
  11. Minhimalism macrumors 65816

    Minhimalism

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Location:
    Texas
    #11
    Ah I was under the assumption that wasn't possible either. Alright then!
     
  12. b0bab0i macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    #12
    It's not possible yet, until they find an exploit. But its better to keep SHSH blobs just incase, doesn't hurt.
     
  13. Ksizzle9 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #13
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I can confirm that doing an update OTA does update the baseband as I just watched a friend get on 5.0.1 to be ready for the JB.
     
  14. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    Nope.
     

Share This Page