Is it possible to force Safari to use one window and open all links in tabs?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by hierobryan, Nov 20, 2008.

  1. hierobryan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    earth/jupiter
    #1
    For example, when I browse Digg.com, all non Digg.com links open in a new window. I hate that. I want all links to open in new tabs only. Is this possible? I know I can "cmd+click" to open links in new tabs, but I don't want that. I want any off-site link to be automatically opened in a new tab.
     
  2. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #2
    Have you had a look at your local neighborhood preferences yet?
     
  3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #3
    To force new windows to open in tabs in Safari:
    In Terminal.app, type:

    defaults write com.apple.Safari TargetedClicksCreateTabs -bool true

    It's not in preferences.
     
  4. hierobryan thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    earth/jupiter
    #4
    Thanks, mister! So can I just hit "Reset Safari..." to undo?
     
  5. JavaWizKid macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #5
    You can download secrets.prefpane from here.

    This will let you enable lots of useful little tweaks that are not available to change via the default gui.
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    No, to undo, in Terminal, type:

    defaults write com.apple.Safari TargetedClicksCreateTabs -bool false
     
  7. chewbocka macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    #7
    Did you try the Safari Preferences? In the General tab at the bottom, it should be set to Open links from current applications in a new tab in the current window.
     
  8. hierobryan thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    earth/jupiter
    #8
    Yes I tried that, but that's not what I'm looking for. What ggjstudios said worked perfectly.
     
  9. Dekimasu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Illinois
    #9
    Is there a similar command possible for Windows Safari?
     
  10. QueenZ macrumors 6502

    QueenZ

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #10
    I don't think so, Windows can't do that!
     
  11. cycler15 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    #11
    I just DL'd Onyx and there is a setting in Onyx that allows you do exactly what you want. I was also looking for this feature and after enabling it through Onyx it works perfectly.
     

Share This Page