Is it possible to get the student discount + the free ipod promotion??

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Kflik, Apr 19, 2011.

1. Kflik macrumors member

Now that today has brought upon new iMac rumors (see main macrumors page) I was wondering with the free iPod promotion not too far away, would it be worth to wait for that promotion?

I am a grad student, so I know I can get the education discount, but if I were to wait for the iPod promotion, would I get both..the free iPod + the education discount to my new iMac? Or is it a sort of, one or the other type of thing?

I have read a ton of information on the education discount and on the iPod promotion, but have not seen this question answered and I was wondering if anyone on here has ever received both promotions at the same time?

Thanks for the help!

2. Pass2Yao macrumors member

Yes, you do get both. I'm waiting on the sidelines as well.

3. Amnesiac1 macrumors 6502

Wait, when is the free iPod promotion going to be made available? I did not know about this.

Link to more information?

4. philipma1957 macrumors 603

philipma1957

no link as of yet but late may of each year if you are a student you get the free ipod promo runs from may 20 to aug 31 just keep looking at this thread and when the link comes up someone will post it. mac mini does not qualify,
    but mac book
    mac book pro
    imac do for sure.

you pay upfront for the computer and the ipod then get a rebate check in the mail about 6 weeks later

5. Amnesiac1 macrumors 6502

Late May of each year?

How many years has this 'late May' tradition been kept up for? If it is several, then I suppose we can trust that it will happen again this year. If it only happened once or twice, we cannot be entirely sure.

6. Pass2Yao macrumors member

I don't know when the program started but it's been active for the last 5 years that I've been aware of it.

7. einmusiker macrumors 68030

einmusiker

Never takes six weeks, usually in your mailbox within a week