Is it possible to just activate a 2.0 with Pwnage (& not unlock or jailbreak)?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by zub3qin, Jul 22, 2008.

  1. zub3qin macrumors 65816

    zub3qin

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #1
    I have an orig iPhone.
    I want to simply activate it to be used as an iPod (not as a phone).
    It is running 2.0 software.

    Is it possible to simply activate the thing?
    In the old days, iLiberty or INdependence worked.... now I think the only thing is Pwnage, no?
     
  2. darwen macrumors 6502a

    darwen

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Location:
    California, US
    #2
    I have the same question. Does anyone know a way? I could jailbreak it but really, all I want is to get past the activation screen.
     
  3. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #3
    Yes it can. Go into expert mode and uncheck everything but activation.

    I'd still suggest unlocking it. You never know when you might need to make a call and a bunch of to go SIMs might be lying around ;)
     
  4. zub3qin thread starter macrumors 65816

    zub3qin

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #4

    Well- I have unlocked, jailbroken and activated.
    Contacts and Google Maps is a bit buggy and sluggish.
    Other posts here suggest that Cydia is the culprit and re-pwnage-ing the iphone and NOT including Cydia is better. Any thoughts?

    Also, so I am clear on this, if I get myself a prepaid SIM (where do you get such a thing) I can use my iPhone as a phone?

    Thanks.
     
  5. Dublinstiofán macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    #5
    Why don't you just plug it into itunes? I activated my iphone 3g with itunes by plugging it in the other day and i have no contract with at&t.


    Was that not supposed to happen??
     

Share This Page