is it possible to use $29 upgrade key to install Windows 7 retail ISO via Boot Camp?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by arrowtree, Dec 3, 2013.

  1. arrowtree macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    #1
    Back in 2010(?), I purchased two upgrade keys for $29 each. The
    pricing was offered to my girlfriend who was college faculty member
    at the time.

    I recently used one of the keys to do a clean install on an old PC with
    a brand new SSD. Windows 7 didn't care that it was an upgrade key
    and the PC had nothing on the SSD. The installing went smoothly.


    The Windows 7 ISO was downloaded directly from Microsoft's official
    website:

    "Windows 7 Home Premium x64 ISO 64-bit"
    http://www.nextofwindows.com/download-retail-windows-7-iso-from-official-website/

    Since I have one more key, I was wondering if it's possible to do the
    same on a Macbook Air 11 (2013) via Boot Camp?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Quackers macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
  3. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Weymouth, UK
    #3
    I have used mine this way many times. You will nedd to change the registry before it will let you activate, but its fine.

    I dont have the key to hand but if you google for install clean windows 7 with upgrade - you should find instructions.
     
  4. clukas macrumors 6502a

    clukas

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #4
    Yes just make sure you have boot camp drivers for windows 8. Apple for example only supported my MBP until windows 7 with driver updates. I managed to get Windows 8 installed fresh on both my macs with no activation problems using keys from the same offer you had.
     
  5. arrowtree thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    #5
    wait... are you saying that you installed Windows 8 using a Windows 7 key? :confused:
     
  6. clukas macrumors 6502a

    clukas

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #6
    No. I purchased a windows 8 key when Microsoft still did the cheap upgrade offer. According to the license you are only allowed to upgrade another version of windows with that key, however I managed to do a clean install without any issues. So I performed a clean installation of windows 8 and activated that using the windows 8 upgrade key.
     
  7. KdParker macrumors 601

    KdParker

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Location:
    Everywhere
  8. arrowtree thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    #8
    Thanks! That's how I did the clean Windows 7 install on the upgrade key.

    I was just wondering if that can be done using Boot Camp on the Macbook.
    I have the retail Windows 7 ISO and I assume it will not know that it's
    being installed on a Mac. :)
     
  9. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Weymouth, UK
    #9
    it will work - I have used my Win7 upgrade to clean install on bootcamp before
     
  10. arrowtree thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    #10
    I just wish Macbook Air & Boot Camp allows Windows XP installation. :(

    My PC laptop cam with Windows 8 and I wiped it off to install Windows XP.
    It only required 4.2GB of space on the 250GB hard drive and ran much
    better for my uses. :)

    Oh well... at least Windows 7 isn't as bad as Windows 8. :D
     
  11. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Weymouth, UK
    #11
    I am finding Windows 8 not to be that bad (as windows goes) - finally they've done away with that awful transparent nicey lookie interface.

    Seems to run very snappy on my mac too (better 8.1 now the almost-start button is back).
     
  12. Richdmoore macrumors 68000

    Richdmoore

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    Troutdale, OR
    #12
    The nice thing about windows 7 is that it allows the "double install method" to be used to install an upgrade key onto a new hard drive. My understanding is that windows 8 does not work using this method.
     

Share This Page