Is it possible to use ANYSIM on a 1.2 Virgin phone Downgraded to 1.1.1?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Jeuk, Nov 28, 2007.

  1. Jeuk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    #1
    I got an iphone today, so I am assuming it's a 1.2 virgin phone (as everyone calls it), and after some issues, I managed to unlock the phone, and install the installer application.

    I got AnySIM, and applied it, but at the end, it said that it couldnt unlock this iphone, and that it needed to be restarted.
    I did so, and when I used anySIM again, it said it couldn't "find sepack data", or something of that sort.

    I tried the iBrickr version of anySIM, it told me the firmware is already patched, but everytime I restart, the SIM card isn't recognized.

    Should I try to restore the iPhone again and try it all over, or is there something I am doing wrong?
     
  2. nelnel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    #2

    There is no way to UNLOCK the 1.1.2 phone for this moment. (possibly no within several weeks). I think what you did is just JAILBREAK the phone only.

    You can use your phone as iTouch now.

    You can't use it as iphone until there is someone who can find a way to UNLOCK the phone, possibly need to wait quite a long time.
     
  3. Jeuk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    #3
    Oh man, I think I did something bad.
    My iphone keeps retarting and code keeps running on it, continously.
    I can't seem to make it stop...

    Any idea?
    This looks really really bad.
     
  4. arkitect macrumors 601

    arkitect

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, United Kingdom
    #4
    What exactly did you do?
     
  5. Jeuk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    #5
    I tried to use ibrickr to unlock the phone.
    Now it just keeps restarting and running code.
    Is it possible to mess up the "Restore Mode" settings somehow?
    I can't seem to reach restore mode, and it just keeps doing it.

    Any help, anyone? I am stressing out.
     
  6. arkitect macrumors 601

    arkitect

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, United Kingdom
    #6
    Well, that sounds like you were far too hasty… :rolleyes: But I think you know that already. ;)

    Try this: Downgrade to 1.1.1

    Oh, and… good luck!
     
  7. Jeuk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    #7
    The thing is, I can't seem to get to restore mode, everytime I restart the iphone, it keeps running the code and restarting itself.

    My question to the thread still stands, let's say my iphone is a 1.2 from the store, and I downgraded to 1.1.1.

    Now that it is at 1.1.1, is it possible to use ANYSIM to unlock it, or is it impossible due to the fact that it is a virgin 1.2 phone?

    Even though it's the least of my worries right now.
    I might have to take this phone to the store for replacement.
    Or is there a way to fix something like this?

    Any help would really be helpful, as I am really stressing out about this.

    Thanks.
     
  8. Jeuk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    #8
    MAN OH MAN!
    That was scary.

    I got it working again through restore mode.

    It should be at 1.1.2


    now, I will ask the question again, just so I make no mistake.

    I am at version 1.1.2 That's how the iPhone came.
    Let's say I downgrade to 1.1.1 successfully.

    Now that the phone is in 1.1.1, I jailbreak it. and get the installer application.
    Should I be able to unlock my SIM card to work with tmobile, or is the fact that the iphone is a 1.1.2 virgin (it came from the store that way) prevent the anySIM application from freeing it up?

    Thank you very much.
     
  9. hooly macrumors regular

    hooly

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #9
    My understanding is that, at the present time, it is only possible to downgrade to 1.1.1. with phones that were not 1.1.2 out of the box.

    in other words, phones where the user upgraded from 1.1.1 to 1.1.2 on iTunes can be returned to 1.1.1.

    For phones that had 1.1.2 from the shop the 'base' firmware is different and cannot yet be unlocked (my understanding is you can jailbreak it for other apps, but will not be able to make calls)

    I am far from an expert but that is my current understanding.

    Very good resource here, I follwed this guys instructions last night after reading his whole site about 10 times!: http://iphone.unlock.no/ He discusses the 1.1.2 out of the box issue.
     
  10. Jeuk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    #10
    Hmm, that definately cannot be right, because earlier today, I had my iphone unlocked.
    I bought it today, and believe it was at 1.1.2 downgraded to 1.1.1, jail broke it and everything. Had installer app and actually installed some application.

    However, the only thing that didn't seem to work was anySIM. after several different attemps, it wouldn't recognize the SIM card.

    Does anyone know how?
     
  11. hooly macrumors regular

    hooly

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #11
  12. nelnel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    #12
    You can jailbreak and downgrade your iphone.
    However, you can't change the modem baseband.
    So, you still can't use your iphone to make any call or SMS.

    Other functions are ok.

    So, you can use it as iTouch now.
     
  13. nelnel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    #13

    You should says, your iphone can be activated and jailbreaked. (but, not yet unlocked)
     
  14. Jeuk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    #14
    Ahh, I see.
    I just had the terms mixed up.

    I might be able to return the phone to the apple store and buy one with an older firmware from craigslist or something?

    Thanks for everyone's help, regardless.
     
  15. Jeuk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    #15
    Man, just so I make sure, as i am confused after reading some other topics.

    I have a tmobile contract for a years. Costs a lot to terminate.

    Someone in this thread said that it's because the baseband of 1.1.2 virgin iphones that I cannot unlock the SIM card yet.

    Is it possible to downgrade basebands?

    Is there absolutely no way that with my current iphone, I can get a tmobile sim card to work? Will I have to wait until the baseband hack or whatever it is called is released for 1.1.2 virgin phones?

    Is the only way to get tmobile to work on an iphone right now to buy an older one which has a 1.1.1 baseband? If so, how do you check that the iphone could be unlocked?

    Thanks for the help.
     
  16. nelnel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    #16
    Everyone OTB 1.1.2 owner is waiting a method to downgrade the baseband, however it is not possible yet, until the next version of bootloader 1.1.3 is relased. It is becasuse Apple has made some trick on the bootloader, only a newer version can erase the current baseband firmware, using secpack.

    If you really need to use OTB 1.1.2, there is something calls TurboSIM which is probed to be workable! However, it is quite expensive ($120 USD), and someone also says that it is out of stock now.

    You can try to buy 1.1.1 phone on ebay, etc.

    In Hong Kong, the price of iphone 1.1.1 version is rising likes a rocket!
     
  17. Jeuk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    #17

    hmm. Thank you nelnel.
    I am not sure I want to go through with the turbo SIM thing, as it looks rather difficult, and it is quite expensive.

    Regarding what you said about the upgrade, though, just so I understand:
    -Until Apple releases the 1.1.3 update, all OTB 1.1.2 iPhones cannot be unlocked, because knowledge from 1.1.3 is required for 1.1.2 phones to be unlocked.

    If so, does anyone have an expected date for the update?
    Is it absolutely impossible for someone to crack it before the update arrives?

    Thanks for all the help.
     
  18. nelnel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    #18
    There is no expected date for the new update. Everyone is guessing now.
    Someone says when there will be a new version of unlock iphone in France very soon and it will have a new bootloader. Someone says that in Feb, 2008, there will be a new bootloader...... :>

    Of course, there may be some clever guys who can find another new way to do so. But, at least, from what the dev team tells us yet, they can't find another way right now.

    So, return to the old place....need time for them or other ppl to do things!
     
  19. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #19
    The only way to unlock an iPhone 1.1.2 OTB (Out of The Box) right now is via Hardware unlock, which involves sodering and opening your iPhone. However, the Dev Team said that *VERY* few people have the skills AND the tools to do this. So, hardware unlock are for those who have a fat wallet, good hardware skills, tools necessary and can afford destroying their iPhones if the fail.

    Software unlock? maybe iPhone SimFree will come up with something new, they don't patch the baseband or firmware...so thats a clue...perhaps...time will tell
     
  20. nelnel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    #20
    See my new thread...

    some chinese guys made a success! and sell very cheap TurboSIM
     
  21. Compile 'em all macrumors 601

    Compile 'em all

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #21
    This is not accurate. To be able to at least get ieraser working, a new version of the baseband needs to come out (not the bootloader).
     

Share This Page